We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ummm, so one on the only places in Charles Town proper” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grandma's Diner

Grandma's Diner
227 West Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414
(304) 724-9960
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 54 Restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Ummm, so one on the only places in Charles Town proper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived in town and hit the self serve visitors center. The man at the deck couldn't offer a suggestion other than the coffee shop or KFC just outside of town. We did get an iced coffee and then set off to find lunch and then start exploring. This small historic town has a Chinese Buffet, a Bodega, and then we passed by here. Nothing more American than Grandma's diner. We entered and kind of felt obligated to sit since there was no one else here. An old fashioned looking dinner run by a man and his young son who were sitting in a booth and watching golf. The restaurant smelled like a great Grandma's closet and I was going to stick to something fried for safety... We ordered sliders and we quite surprised that they were so good. Fresh soft potato rolls and French fries.
Grandma is a real person and her name is Francesca. She just wasn't there this day.
That is about everything I can share. Not a bad choice among the few options here...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast and Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good home cooked food, and great prices! Breakfast is just the way I like it. Sometimes we just order a whole pie to go!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tomales, rice and black beans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Although I am not supposed to eat this, I had to try it and it was really good authentic hispanic food. Grandma's special hot sauce had the perfect heat for me......other things on the menu looked appealing also

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good price and good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I had dinner like a hour ago at Gradma's Dine. The food was good, I got a bowl of chili, very tasty! And the price is very reasonable, If you are looking for simple food with good price, Grandma's Diner is a not bad choice in Charles Town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This is breakfast done right.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Family owned and operated. Three generations of a very nice family work hard to make you visit pleasent. The atmoshere is nothing real special , its a diner. The food is great. Ask if they have tamales, gramma does it authenticly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Diner also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to Grandma's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandma's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.