We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandma's Diner

Grandma's Diner
227 West Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414
(304) 724-9960
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 50 Restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Odenton, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good price and good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I had dinner like a hour ago at Gradma's Dine. The food was good, I got a bowl of chili, very tasty! And the price is very reasonable, If you are looking for simple food with good price, Grandma's Diner is a not bad choice in Charles Town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This is breakfast done right.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Family owned and operated. Three generations of a very nice family work hard to make you visit pleasent. The atmoshere is nothing real special , its a diner. The food is great. Ask if they have tamales, gramma does it authenticly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Best bacon cheeseburgers and fries anywhere! Great prices, great service. Family friendly. Deserts look great but never have room to try them.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“just a step above terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

simple family breakfast of eggs and bacon. couldn't get the coffee cup to stay full. couldn't get the water glass to stay full - but the daughter's soda sure stayed full?? huh?? egg whites were runny, bacon was not all cooked, it was just poor.
the ambiance?? dingy and dirty.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great breakfast on the day after thanksgiving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

i never would have thought that i'd be hungry on the morning after a thanksgiving's day feast for the ages but we were up long before the rest of the folks in the cabin we rented and headed into charles town for breakfast. came across grandma's diner and it looked like a great place to try and were we ever right. it was early and there was only one other person there when we arrived but by the time we left, about half a dozen tables were filled. i had what they called the mexican breakfast and it was really great. the owner's husband said that he would put the hot sauce on the side just to play it safe. i have to say that the hot sauce was perhaps the best that i have EVER had and asked him where it came from. he said his wife (grandma) makes it herself and since she uses no preservatives, has to make it almost every day. i asked if i could possibly buy some and he said that unfortunately, there was none left but that she would be making more later in the day and that if i wanted, i could come back the next day and buy a jar. have no doubt i will! everyone was as nice as could be and we'll be back again tomorrow.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Diner also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to Grandma's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandma's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.