We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just a step above terrible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grandma's Diner

Grandma's Diner
227 West Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414
(304) 724-9960
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 50 Restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“just a step above terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

simple family breakfast of eggs and bacon. couldn't get the coffee cup to stay full. couldn't get the water glass to stay full - but the daughter's soda sure stayed full?? huh?? egg whites were runny, bacon was not all cooked, it was just poor.
the ambiance?? dingy and dirty.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great breakfast on the day after thanksgiving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

i never would have thought that i'd be hungry on the morning after a thanksgiving's day feast for the ages but we were up long before the rest of the folks in the cabin we rented and headed into charles town for breakfast. came across grandma's diner and it looked like a great place to try and were we ever right. it was early and there was only one other person there when we arrived but by the time we left, about half a dozen tables were filled. i had what they called the mexican breakfast and it was really great. the owner's husband said that he would put the hot sauce on the side just to play it safe. i have to say that the hot sauce was perhaps the best that i have EVER had and asked him where it came from. he said his wife (grandma) makes it herself and since she uses no preservatives, has to make it almost every day. i asked if i could possibly buy some and he said that unfortunately, there was none left but that she would be making more later in the day and that if i wanted, i could come back the next day and buy a jar. have no doubt i will! everyone was as nice as could be and we'll be back again tomorrow.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Greasy! Forgettable!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The food was horrible and no one could understand our order. "Grandma's" kitchen? Really? The tables were filthy and it took 45 minutes for a fried egg and toast.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simple, Inexpensive and Fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stopped in here on the way to Harpers Ferry. We ate here because the restaurants in the lower town Harpers Ferry are so bad. Had breakfast at Grandma's and sat at the bar. Service was fast. The food was basic, but good. Grandma's is a great value for a fast breakfast. I will eat there again, if I am back up that way.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Great diner breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Can't remember the name of it, but I had some sort of spicy chorizo and eggs breakfast with corn tortillas that was awesome. Prices are low. Portions are big. Right on the main drag. Good stuff.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Diner also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to Grandma's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandma's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.