We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Son loves it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skippers Downtown Dips and Deli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Skippers Downtown Dips and Deli
114 West Washington St, Charles Town, WV
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 49 restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Pizza, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Son loves it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Very very good ice cream served by family owned non-chain ice cream parlor. The prices are very reasonable and the atmosphere in an older refurbished Charles Town building is great. When you are done eating your child can paint pottery in the pottery room. Go here for ice cream.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    11
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“kids love it here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We love it here. they have wonderful ice cream. They also have a pottery section that has made wonderful mothers day/ fathers day gifts that we truly love. it had a good vibe and they play 80's music.
The food is okay, but I don't go there for that.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Home-made ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Unique atmosphere with art and ice cream together, but both are great. Great place to bring the kids for a snack and an activity on a cold or rainy day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Skippers is an integral part of the Main Street community. Not only do they offer the best ice cream and hot dogs around, but they also have a paint your own pottery studio in the back of the establishment. But don't let that fool you - even the pottery painting area is as neat and tidy as the restaurant area. The staff is incredibly helpful. I'm allergic to certain food items and they've actually looked at the ingredients to make sure certain ice cream flavors are safe for me to eat. I love this place!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West River, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ice Cream You Scream...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My kids and I tried three different kinds of ice cream, and all were great. My peach melba was like nothing I've ever had before, and I've eaten LOTS of ice cream! My son had the chocolate cupcake, and also agreed that it was uniquely delicious (and he's also eaten his share of ice cream in his young life!). My daughter always get cookies & cream (except when she gets vanilla), and she said this particular cookies & cream was great! We'd been visiting Harper's Ferry, but decided to head to Charles Town for ice cream because the reviews were better. Definitely worth the short drive (~6 miles).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skippers Downtown Dips and Deli also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
Charles Town, WV
 
Charles Town, WV

Been to Skippers Downtown Dips and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skippers Downtown Dips and Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.