We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skippers Downtown Dips and Deli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Skippers Downtown Dips and Deli
114 West Washington St, Charles Town, WV
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 50 Restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Pizza, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Skippers is an integral part of the Main Street community. Not only do they offer the best ice cream and hot dogs around, but they also have a paint your own pottery studio in the back of the establishment. But don't let that fool you - even the pottery painting area is as neat and tidy as the restaurant area. The staff is incredibly helpful. I'm allergic to certain food items and they've actually looked at the ingredients to make sure certain ice cream flavors are safe for me to eat. I love this place!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West River, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ice Cream You Scream...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My kids and I tried three different kinds of ice cream, and all were great. My peach melba was like nothing I've ever had before, and I've eaten LOTS of ice cream! My son had the chocolate cupcake, and also agreed that it was uniquely delicious (and he's also eaten his share of ice cream in his young life!). My daughter always get cookies & cream (except when she gets vanilla), and she said this particular cookies & cream was great! We'd been visiting Harper's Ferry, but decided to head to Charles Town for ice cream because the reviews were better. Definitely worth the short drive (~6 miles).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“YUM YUM YUM!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

It was DELICIOUS!!! I had the chocolate ice cream with brownie chunks in it and it was awesome. I got the kids size which was MORE than enough!! It was so creamy and rich, but not too rich. Haven't had ice cream that good in a long time.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluemont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Ice Cream around.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Skippers has the best hand dipped ice cream, it has replaced my old favorite Paks. Sorry Paks, your prices have gotten ridiculous! I'm giving a rating of very good, because I've only been twice and tried 2 flavors. Peach and Raspberry are highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cool vibe, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This place has excellent ice cream, some good food items, and plenty of space to eat and relax in.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skippers Downtown Dips and Deli also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to Skippers Downtown Dips and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skippers Downtown Dips and Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.