We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Fun pottery to decorate.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Skippers Downtown Dips and Deli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Skippers Downtown Dips and Deli
114 West Washington St, Charles Town, WV
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 54 Restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Pizza, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food. Fun pottery to decorate.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Fun for a day off with the kids. Kid-friendly, with good food they will eat, and then they can paint an item.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“best sandwiches in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Friendly atmosphere, great service with a smile, and TERRIFIC food! A fun place for the whole family!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Va
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Never been past the ice cream counter -- best place for ice cream in a long ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

They get their ice cream from South Mountain Creamery in Middletown Md. All natural, and very good. Chocolate insanity is very good, as are pineapple, and peach. That's as far as I've gotten on the menu.

They have a frequent buyer's card, which gets you a free cone once you buy nine or so. Great ice cream. Just down from the Chinese restaurant. Service is first rate. Hate to admit that it's better than Nutter's, but it is.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best place in Charles Town for a quick meal and/or dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

They have several salads that I really like, also some good, small pizzas.

Most of the servers are efficient and friendly. I have had only one negative experience with a "dairy maid". Tonight I went in for a hot fudge sundae. My ice cream selection was mint chip (which they say is one of their most popular, and I can believe it, I love it). The server on duty was the ONLY one who never smiles and is somewhat curt. I asked for a hot fudge sundae with..., and I pointed at the green ice cream with black chips and said, "mint chip." Then she came back with her scoop and asked, "Did you say mint chip?" I said yes. So I retired to a table with my sundae and discovered that the chocolate chips were actually bits of oreo cookie. She should have warned me that the mint chip had been replaced with a new ice cream called "Grasshopper", then I would have selected my second-favorite, chocolate peanut butter.

Another slight negative is the atmosphere, only because it is unpredictable. It depends on the customers you are sharing the dining area with. Because it's an informal atmosphere, a small minority of the customers think it's fine to be rudely loud and try to engage you in conversation when you are trying to enjoy your meal in peace. (Just two bad experiences in all the time they've been open.)

I didn't mean to sound so negative, it's really a great eating place!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, WV
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

This is THE place to go for a one of a kind personal pizza (Steak and Cheese, Chipotle Chicken etc). The ice cream is THE best anywhere around. It is made by a dairy farm in the area. The flavors are amazing (my personal favorite is the chocolate and peanut butter). They have other interesting flavors such as coconut joy, chocolate insanity and grape nuts.

The also have a pottery patch where you can paint pottery (I have not done this so can't comment on it).
You can't go wrong!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skippers Downtown Dips and Deli also viewed

 

Been to Skippers Downtown Dips and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skippers Downtown Dips and Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.