We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO...NOT...STAY...HERE!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Northgate Inn

Northgate Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charles Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northgate Inn
106 Jefferson Terrace, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“DO...NOT...STAY...HERE!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I attend an event every Spring in the area and have stayed here before. It's a total budget motel and I know that. But, this last time was really bad (cigarette burn holes in the blanket, soap the size of Chiclets, walls still roughly patched with drywall compound from a year or two ago....and on and on...)

The clincher of my less that positive review is that someone I know was staying there too and had their car vandalized. The local law enforcement told him that he should avoid this place. OK, good enough advice for me.

Bottom line.....need a cheap room and willing to take a chance? Go for it. Me? I'll never go back.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else, please. I don't want to see anyone get hurt or their property defaced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    3
    2
    8
See reviews for
2
3
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The room was filthy and smelled terrible!!! The curtains where falling off of the curtain rod and when we tried to turn on the ceiling fan it almost fell out of the ceiling and hit my husband in the head. When we requested a refund for the room the the clerk informed us that he does not have to code to issue refunds and that we would have to call the owner on Monday. Everytime we try to get intouch with the owner a Mr. Patel he doesnt seem to be available. We r persuing refund via credit card complany. Will never ever ever think to stay in this hotel. Poor customer service and over all a giant DUMP!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

The hotel is a BUDGET hotel, know that going in and you won't be dissapointed. The desk clerk was very nice, one of the best desk clerks I have come across in my travels.

Room Tip: Get a room away from Route 340.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed at this Inn for one night. We went out for the evening. Once we came back to the room and turned down the bed cover there were what looked like some kind of clear/beige grease on the bottom sheet and also holes in the very used blanket. The front dest would not give us another room or clean sheets. The toilet also was not bolted to the floor. We layed on top of the bedspread but had a very uncomfortable restless night. The Manager was out the following day so we could not speak to him. Clerks were not helpful or courteous. The Manager would have been the one to be able to do anything for us so the morning clerk told us. Will never go there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21740
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Room was clean. motel was quiet. we love staying at northgate inn. We will recommend to all friend. (It was in budget)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northgate Inn

Address: 106 Jefferson Terrace, Charles Town, WV 25414
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northgate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Northgate Inn to your Saves list