We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mezzaluna Cafe

La Mezzaluna Cafe
90 Somerset Blvd., Charles Town, WV
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 54 Restaurants in Charles Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Phone: 304-728-0700
Powhatan, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant after reading the tripadvisor reviews. So happy we did. Clean, good service, excellent food. Would not expect to find this in a little strip mall so don't underestimate! It was crowded but moved quickly. Had appetizer, salad and garlic knots (wow) and entrees (lasagna and chicken parm). Everything was absolutely delicious. Not a large place but it gave the atmosphere of an Italian restaurant in NY loaded with family. Moderately priced and worth more!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    44
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel and we are so glad we took their advice. The restaurant is located in a strip shopping center and only Cafe on the outside of the building but the name of the restaurant is written on the window. There were two men who walked in with us who said they were picking up food and said this is the best restaurant in town. We were seated right away and drinks were ordered. The waiter was very friendly and helpful answering questions and offering suggestions. Once we ordered our salad and the best garlic rolls were brought with no wait. The salad and rolls were excellent. I could have made a meal of them. Our order of Chicken Parmesan and Chicken Francese were huge and absolutely delicious. We both took food home. This by far one of the best Italian restaurants I have ever eaten at.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were searching for a nice restaurant for dinner after a full day at Harpers Ferry. Mezzaluna more than filled our hopes. Located in a strip mall storefront, but once inside, you forget about that. Staff was helpful and solicitous. Ordered eggplant rolletine (sp) for an appetizer and it definitely could have been a main course. For main courses, we had Fettucine Duchessa, a spinach fettucine in a cream sauce, with peas onions, chicken, pancetta and mushrooms. My wife ordered Rigatoni ala Vodka (cream vodka sauce with Pancetta). It was all superb. Lots of leftovers to take home too!
We hope to return one day!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We decided to try La Mezzaluna for dinner based on the reviews and we weren't disappointed. All of us enjoyed our meals and the garlic knots are to die for. The one tip I have is t get there early, they don't take reservations and we waited for over an hour to be seated. Normally I wouldn't wait that long but we were waiting for someone, glad he was running late, we had an excellent meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A large selection of Italian dishes all reasonably priced. You are tended to by a friendly and efficient staff. I would definitely eat here again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mezzaluna Cafe also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to La Mezzaluna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mezzaluna Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.