We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mezzaluna Cafe

La Mezzaluna Cafe
90 Somerset Blvd., Charles Town, WV
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Phone: 304-728-0700
Charles Town, West Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Affordable Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

La Mezzaluna is tucked away in a strip mall, next to an excellent Mexican restaurant. The service is great and the food is excellent. Very affordable for a family dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    49
    37
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Good Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here yesterday evening and it was very good. Typical Italian fare but with some entrees that I was not familiar with. Food was excellent and so was the service. Atmosphere is your typical suburban mall restaurant, nothing fancy. Would definitely come back next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“good food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Went there for lunch. My wife said her eggplant rollatini was the best she had in years. I had a meatball parmesan sub and it was also very good. Might have had another half meatball.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, WV
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went to celebrate our anniversary. We have been before and enjoyed it, but it had been awhile. I am hoping that our meal was a fluke, and they haven't gone that far downhill!

The salad was average. The garlic knots were average, at best (not fresh, no garlic or butter).

We ordered the calamari for an appetizer. It was FABULOUS!! Some of the best calamari I have ever had.

My husband ordered the Shrimp Parmesan. He ate it, but didn't think it was wonderful.

I ordered the Shrimp Alfredo. GROSS! They could have poured dirty dish water over the pasta and it would have had more flavor. I added cheese, pepper and salt TRYING to like it. Nothing helped it. The shrimp in the dish were tiny cocktail type shrimp.

Overall, the experience was poor. I would go back and order the calamari, but that would be about it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Culinary Delight!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Don't let the Arron's Rental and Food Lion grocery store next door fool you. This is one of the best restaurants you will find anywhere. A five-star trained chef creates individually prepared Italian delicacies. You can choose from nearly 60 entrees and pasta dishes that range from Rigatoni a la Vodka to Lobster and Crab ravioli. If it's not on the menu and they're not packed you can even have your favorite dish created.

We were there three nights and had a different meal each visit. We even ordered two meals to bring home. Linda was wonderful and took care of our every need.

If Italian is your craving, La Mezz is a must when you are in Charles Town!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mezzaluna Cafe also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to La Mezzaluna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mezzaluna Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.