We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mezzaluna Cafe

La Mezzaluna Cafe
90 Somerset Blvd., Charles Town, WV
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 55 Restaurants in Charles Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Phone: 304-728-0700
Ridgeley WV
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not fancy but very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

A friend who lives in Charles Town recommended La Mezzaluna - I visited nearby Harpers Ferry with a friend and was looking for a good local dining spot. I was not disappointed. We had a short wait, which I expected on a Friday evening. We had the fettuccine Alfredo (very good) and manicotti (excellent). Service was pleasant and efficient. The restaurant is small and not very well marked - it is in a shopping center and the overhead sign just says "cafe." This is a good family-run Italian place: if you are tired of the big chains you will enjoy this.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    44
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Average because I didn't expect very good or excellent...read on.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I visit this area once a year for an event that I participate in at Summit Point Raceway and this restaurant is close to my hotel.

The food has always been decent. The servers are pleasant and the portions just right. This past dining experience I had the calamari as an appetizer and that was nicely deep fried. My main course was the Penne ala Voddka. It was good but not outstanding. Very one dimensional in flavor. But, I know that it would be hard to have exceptional Italian and the prices associated with it so I was not disappointed. Pricing is very reasonable so that's a big plus.

I will say that the cleanliness of the bathroom, (I can only speak for the men's bathroom,) was horrible. It had a terrible stench, the floor was dirty, used paper towels on the floor and overall a buzz kill to dinner. Also, just outside the men's room were four large sacks of what I believe was flour in contact with the floor. This, along with the condition of the mens room, got me to wondering what the kitchen was like. Further attention should be paid to the cleanliness of the rest of the dining area as well. This needs to be addressed immediately.

I sincerely hope that the owners see this and remedy the above as I do like patronizing locally owned eatablishments rather than the blah chain restaurants in the area.

I hope the

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome food good service very bright we will go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Walked in on a rainy Fri

ay night at 7:30 and Mezzaluna was 2/3 full. The receptionist/waitress was young slim and attractive but had a permanent frown (but she was polite). Fortunately our server Angie was charming efficient and delightful. The dining room was open and airy with tables in the center and a few booths around the periphery. Nothing fancy - no flowers or fancy light fixtures, but pleasant. The lights were even brighter than the diner down the street - while that makes it easy for older guys like me to read the menu it means absolutely no romance.

As for the food - everything comes with a nice basic but tasty and well-executed Italian salad - iceberg, tomatoes, olives, red onions with Italian dressing. Our calamari appetizer was outstanding - light and delicate breading possibly the best I ever had, with a marinara/tomato sauce to dip. The linguini with white clam sauce had enough butter/olive oil to require bypass surgery but was delicious, as was the calamari fra diavolo but be aware - spicy means very spicy and medium is probably a better choice so as not to overpower the other flavors. Decent chianti and other wine is available by the half-carafe, and the coffee torufo (ice cream) dessert was really good. And the bill without tip for all these goodies (2 entrees, 1 appetizer, 1 dessert, 1/2 carafe wine) was $55.

The online menu was accurate and will give you an idea of what Mezzaluna has - but a few items had increased in price by a dollar or so.

5 / 5 in value, 4.5 / 5 in food, 4 /5 in service (they lost a star because of that permanent frown), and 3 / 5 in ambience.

I live in the area - this La Mezzaluna is the best place I have eaten in Charles Town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian Food in Small Town setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Have been here several times the food has never been nothing but excellent. Prices very reasonable for the class of food. The place looks very plain from the outside.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Veggie Accomodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great waitress, willing to accommodate our vegan requests, and delicious dinner (pasta with about a half dozen vegetables). Yummy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mezzaluna Cafe also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to La Mezzaluna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mezzaluna Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.