We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but needs better management ASAP” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mezzaluna Cafe

La Mezzaluna Cafe
90 Somerset Blvd., Charles Town, WV
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 55 Restaurants in Charles Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Phone: 304-728-0700
Harpers Ferry, WV
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food but needs better management ASAP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a follow up to my last review of The Mezzaluna Cafe. The food is great and the dining room atmosphere is OK for a strip mall restaurant, that said the staff seem burned out, the place is really really getting filthy. The walls next to our booth were disgusting, the rest room is plain nasty, "Food Lions is cleaner and Ive used the Mezzaluna's right after they open for service so there is no excuse", to ice the cake they ran out of receipt paper and our server told us that its becoming common, that they feel like they have no manager running the place! This added 20 minutes to our wait time, after we had finished our dinner, while a server ran to Staples! I wish the owners would watch a few episodes of Kitchen Nightmares, it would not take more than $100 to refresh the restrooms, put in some new clean lights and mirrors, and CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN, the tile walls and floors should not be that dirty, not in one of the area's best Italian restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    44
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“WE keep going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

No question the best Fried Calamari & the spinach and eggplant Parmesan is to die for. Excellent salad,excellent hot bread served with each meal.The service is great & I have said excellent (it is for us) but the menu is limited for some people as only Italian & seafood. We love th Bomba for desert

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“If You Like Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This cafe is a treasure. The food is excellent as is the staff. Prices are more than reasonable considering the quality and quantity of the food that you are served. The cafe does not accept reservations but even a 20 minute wait would be worth it. Suggest early arrival for dinner, especially on Friday or Saturday.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Staff Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We just finish having lunch and everything was really good. I have eaten in the restaurant probably 50 times since it opened 10 or more years ago and have never been disappointed.
You will not walk away hungry!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Lovely Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

in a shopping center in Charlestown across from Walmart. It has yummy food and a gentle, Italian mood with Italian options.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mezzaluna Cafe also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to La Mezzaluna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mezzaluna Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.