We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Upgraded Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turf Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Charles Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turf Motel
Save
You added Turf Motel to your Saves list
741 E Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
DCJim1
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lots of Upgraded Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Turf just completed a major make over of many of the king rooms and they are all very nice with new wall mounted flat screen tvs. New beds also.......it really is you best buy in the area if you are going to the track and casino.....the staff is great too which is an added plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    11
    2
    9
See reviews for
7
34
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owings Mills, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Just wanted to drop a line so that other viewers know about The Turf Motel. We stayed here just for a little girl's getaway overnight and I'm telling you, you couldn't ask for a more accomodating and friendly staff. Based on other reviews, I asked for a room in the 'new bldg'. Amanda was willing to give us an opportunity to see what the rooms were like on both sides - excellent customer svce! The only reason I didnt give a 5 is because the bed was not comfortable and the AC was just a bit noisy when it came on, but that could have been because we set it to 'auto'. The complimentary hot breakfast was average. We would definitely stay here again!! Hopefully next time, we will get to hang out in the lounge for a few cocktails.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zion Crossroads, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

What a weekend! We arrived Friday afternoon and stayed through Sunday. What did we do? What didn't we do! Golf, Casino, Food, Guy-Stuff (you get the idea) and all with wonderful accomodations and hosts. Duane Marcus and staff at the Turf Motel went above and beyond all of our expectations. We had 12 guys and Duane has a condo unit that was party central. You have room for anything required as well as a small kitchen area to cook snacks and keep the beer cold. The steak restaurant on site is fabulous and the complimentary breakfast each morning was a much needed jumpstart for each new day. Duane can arrange transportation to and from the various activities; golf, casino, gentlemen's club and the price for the trip will amaze you! I am a golf professional by trade and I have taken many trips with groups of people. This was an amazing value with all of the necessary activities to keep everyone happy. Luxury sleeping, perhaps not, but who cares what you sleep on when your only closing your eyes to wake up to more fun! This was the perfect trip for all the young bachelor buddies on a young persons budget and for me as well. Thanks Duane and the Turf Motel for some wonderful memories!

Room Tip: The condo unit is a must for the group that needs a big room to socialize in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Just a few words to let everyone know how great the Turf is. We go often and it is always a pleasure. Their desk person Amanda always makes our stay that much better. They need to clone that girl. Great hotel. And don't get me started on that prime rib, yummy in my tummy. ....Rick from Colonial Beach

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

A group of nine of us just stayed at The Turf this weekend. We had 3 rooms, a suite and two apartment style rooms. Duane worked with us to accommodate all of our needs. The rooms were great for the price we had to pay and the staff was very helpful. Breakfast at the restaurant was awesome and the complimentary breakfast was good too! The Turf is a great place to stay if you are going to Charlestown for the casino due to location and free shuttle service. Also the downstairs bar was fun too, karaoke was a good time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbanna, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Shuttle service is nice. Left before I could try the buffet. Room was clean and large, but low ceiling. Overpriced. The front office staff were friendly but would not budge on the price of the room. Overall it's a decent hotel. Creepy little town and the casino nearby is not worth your time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
md
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have stayed here twice. Both times we stayed in the new section. The room was comfortable, clean and had a refrigerator, coffee maker and a Jacuzzi jetted tub.(If you add shampoo you get LOTS of bubbles...just saying). The shuttle to the casino comes every 15 minutes or so, or the staff is happy to call for you. Computer and printer in the lobby for your use, too. The downstairs bar has slots and a GREAT jukebox for our taste (in our 50's).good food and prices for a bar (crab cake sliders and fries 11 bucks) We were a birthday bunch and danced and socialized with everyone there. The bar upstairs will give you free taste tests of the locally made cordials(pumpkin spice was yum!) Free breakfast was good for free . As good as most of the free breakfasts you get at hotels. A great bargain, especially if you want a change from the plastic new chain hotels. This one has some history and character.

Room Tip: stay in main hotel. great for a middle aged crowd. Great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turf Motel

Address: 741 E Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only one hour from DC and Baltimore! The Turf Motel & Rib Room in the heart of Charles Town is full of modern amenities to accommodate your every need. Whether you are a first-time visitor to the area or a seasoned vet, let the family-oriented Turf staff help you relax and enjoy all the area has to offer. The Turf features superb dining from our famous Rib Room, fun atmosphere in our new Turf Lounge, and a variety of room types to suit every style and budget. Conveniently located directly beside the new Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races, the Turf Motel is within easy walking distance and offers patrons free shuttle service to and from. With over 5000+ slots, live thoroughbred horse racing, and the addition of 112 new table games including blackjack, poker, roulette, craps, and more, will definitely keep you coming back for more. Other nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Historical Park and several other key civil war sites, whitewater rafting & tubing, hiking & biking, shopping, historic Charles Town, and historic and unique Shepherdstown. Whether you are in town for business, leisure, or just passing through, the accommodations at the Turf will make you feel right at home. Newly built section now open; offering more in-room amenities including Jacuzzi tubs and Wireless Internet access throughout. Standard amenities include microwave, refrigerator, alarm/radio, coffee maker, safe, iron, hair dryer. Superb dining available on-site at our famous Rib Room serving the Area’s Best Prime Rib, fresh seafood, hand-cut steaks, and exciting daily specials. Enjoy many other succulent breakfast, lunch, and dinner entrees or indulge in our free steak & eggs! After dinner, enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the Turf Lounge featuring big screen HD TVs, satellite sports packages, drink and food specials, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turf Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.