We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bachelorette Party Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turf Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Turf Motel to your Saves list
Turf Motel
741 E Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
King George, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bachelorette Party Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

A group of nine of us just stayed at The Turf this weekend. We had 3 rooms, a suite and two apartment style rooms. Duane worked with us to accommodate all of our needs. The rooms were great for the price we had to pay and the staff was very helpful. Breakfast at the restaurant was awesome and the complimentary breakfast was good too! The Turf is a great place to stay if you are going to Charlestown for the casino due to location and free shuttle service. Also the downstairs bar was fun too, karaoke was a good time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    11
    2
    10
See reviews for
9
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Urbanna, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Shuttle service is nice. Left before I could try the buffet. Room was clean and large, but low ceiling. Overpriced. The front office staff were friendly but would not budge on the price of the room. Overall it's a decent hotel. Creepy little town and the casino nearby is not worth your time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
md
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have stayed here twice. Both times we stayed in the new section. The room was comfortable, clean and had a refrigerator, coffee maker and a Jacuzzi jetted tub.(If you add shampoo you get LOTS of bubbles...just saying). The shuttle to the casino comes every 15 minutes or so, or the staff is happy to call for you. Computer and printer in the lobby for your use, too. The downstairs bar has slots and a GREAT jukebox for our taste (in our 50's).good food and prices for a bar (crab cake sliders and fries 11 bucks) We were a birthday bunch and danced and socialized with everyone there. The bar upstairs will give you free taste tests of the locally made cordials(pumpkin spice was yum!) Free breakfast was good for free . As good as most of the free breakfasts you get at hotels. A great bargain, especially if you want a change from the plastic new chain hotels. This one has some history and character.

Room Tip: stay in main hotel. great for a middle aged crowd. Great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This place was modern in the 1960s! dated from the 60s. Two flat pillows on a king size bed that was probably from the 60s! We got the jaccuzi room, but ran out of hot water before we could fill it. Rib room restaurant not all that great, and overheard the cook say " I can't believe they asked for steak sauce! The bar down stairs was old, but drinks were nice,and bartender Heather was a sweetheart! Would not stay here again @ 140.00 it was a rip off!

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Turf Motel is located directly in front of the casino with easy access to and from. The rooms, particularly in the main building are well maintained. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are clean with a nice jacuzzi tub, and the refrigerator and microwave are nice extras. The staff are all very nice, particularly Amanda.....she is the best! The Turf Restaurant is pretty good and the complimentary breakfast is nothing fancy, but adequate. If you are traveling to Charles Town, the Turf is your best bet for your buck.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, Virginia
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Room was clean with a slight smell. After getting settle, I hear this noise constantly coming from a bathroom sounds like the jets where left on in the bathroom under me. You could feel the vibration, while standing on the floor. After 40 minutes, I contact the front desk to report it. Try to sleep but couldn't, I called the front desk again 2 hours later, mind you it is now 4:45 AM and she now said, "I can move you to another room". After, moving to the other room, there was a blood stain on the pillow, the pillow was clean, but you could clearly see the stain. I was told to talk with the person on the morning shift, which I did and she told me that the manager would be calling, as of today, I have heard nothing from the manager. I called and was to told to call back between the hours of 9 to 5.

Room Tip: Not sure!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Okay place to stay. Nice clean room with a jacuzzi tub. Bed was a little to hard for me. I stayed in the main building. Outside rooms seemed colder. I would stay there again. Turf room restaurant was fair for breakfast. Baby back rubs were tasty.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turf Motel

Address: 741 E Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only one hour from DC and Baltimore! The Turf Motel & Rib Room in the heart of Charles Town is full of modern amenities to accommodate your every need. Whether you are a first-time visitor to the area or a seasoned vet, let the family-oriented Turf staff help you relax and enjoy all the area has to offer. The Turf features superb dining from our famous Rib Room, fun atmosphere in our new Turf Lounge, and a variety of room types to suit every style and budget. Conveniently located directly beside the new Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races, the Turf Motel is within easy walking distance and offers patrons free shuttle service to and from. With over 5000+ slots, live thoroughbred horse racing, and the addition of 112 new table games including blackjack, poker, roulette, craps, and more, will definitely keep you coming back for more. Other nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Historical Park and several other key civil war sites, whitewater rafting & tubing, hiking & biking, shopping, historic Charles Town, and historic and unique Shepherdstown. Whether you are in town for business, leisure, or just passing through, the accommodations at the Turf will make you feel right at home. Newly built section now open; offering more in-room amenities including Jacuzzi tubs and Wireless Internet access throughout. Standard amenities include microwave, refrigerator, alarm/radio, coffee maker, safe, iron, hair dryer. Superb dining available on-site at our famous Rib Room serving the Area’s Best Prime Rib, fresh seafood, hand-cut steaks, and exciting daily specials. Enjoy many other succulent breakfast, lunch, and dinner entrees or indulge in our free steak & eggs! After dinner, enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the Turf Lounge featuring big screen HD TVs, satellite sports packages, drink and food specials, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Turf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turf Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.