We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old time motel with very nice service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turf Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Charles Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turf Motel
Save Saved
You added Turf Motel to your Saves list
741 E Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Charles Town
Edgewater, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Old time motel with very nice service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We've stayed at the Turf twice this summer when we wanted to be close to the casino...this place is VERY affordable compared to the other hotels nearby. Some of the rooms are pretty quirky, some are very classy....room 227 was our last stay and it was great, very roomy, spacious, modern. The 2 bedroom 'apartments' are really just big rooms with separate bedrooms, but served our purposes for an evening of family gambling....the shuttle is excellent, and we found the staff very nice...just show up at the desk and they call the shuttle for you. Very happy to have found this place.

Room Tip: Room 227 is great - king bed, probably one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    11
    1
    9
See reviews for
5
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed at the Turf Motel in the old section the Sunday before Memorial Day and it was a nightmare!! The room had a very low ceiling and it felt like you had walked in a cave. It was very outdated and the woman at the desk was not friendly but very rude!!! Don't waste your hard earn money and time at this place. It reminded me of Bates Motel!!!! Also, the free breakfast was a joke. The milk didn't look fresh and the little amount of breakfast was dried up. I couldn't eat or drink anything.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCJim1
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great clean affordable rooms.....wonderful food, a great bar. Walking distince to the track but they also have shuttle service. An old time gem that knows about survice. It's great....I'll be going back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed the night of 5/24/13. We were very pleased with this hotel. We paid $89.60 including tax for a friday night stay. I think a very good price.The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean. The beds were comfy as well as clean.The room had a fridge single serve coffee pot and microwave. The motel is close enough to walk to the casino or you can opt to take the shuttle. We waited less than 10 minutes for it to arrive. It was very quiet over night and in the morning too. They have an 11:00 check out time.The only down fall was the shower was very low. Im 5'7 and had to duck to rinse my hair. Not a big deal to me but maybe to a 6ft guy it would be. LOL The free breakfast was good and the seating area was nice. We will stay again with out a doubt.

Room Tip: they have both smoking and non smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This had to be the best Bachelorette Party experience ever! The staff was super friendly and accomodating! There were great memories made here! They catered to us, and made sure we had absolutely everything we needed!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was VERY pleased with my stay at the Turf Motel. Myself and 7 friends went to Charles Town for a Bachelorette party and we felt like rockstars. The hotel staff were so accomadating, friendly and hiliarous. We had a great time at the Lounge for karoke night, the Rib Room for the complimentary breakfast and dinner and hanging out with Richard, the token golf-cart security. We stayed in a room with 3 pull out couches and a king size bed. I won't lie and say the pull-outs were very comfortable because they were not but the bed was comfortable. The room was spacious and clean, plenty of space for all 8 girls. I highly recommend the Turf Motel and look forward to my next trip. We worked directly with Dwayne to set up our stay. I encourage anyone who wants a cheap, fun stay to stay at the Turf.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at this motel with a bachelorette party last weekend and was blown away by how customer service oriented everyone at this establishment was. From check in to check out, everything we needed or requested was taken care of with no questions asked. The room was clean and fully stocked with towels, clean blankets, etc. The price was unbeatable as was the customer service. The food at the restuarant was out of this world and the hotel bar was a blast. This will now be my go to spot if ever in Charles Town again. Recommed staying here over one of the higher priced hotels in the area. The shuttle from the casino is here every 10-15 minutes. Can't be the quality and price of this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turf Motel

Address: 741 E Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Charles Town
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only one hour from DC and Baltimore! The Turf Motel & Rib Room in the heart of Charles Town is full of modern amenities to accommodate your every need. Whether you are a first-time visitor to the area or a seasoned vet, let the family-oriented Turf staff help you relax and enjoy all the area has to offer. The Turf features superb dining from our famous Rib Room, fun atmosphere in our new Turf Lounge, and a variety of room types to suit every style and budget. Conveniently located directly beside the new Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races, the Turf Motel is within easy walking distance and offers patrons free shuttle service to and from. With over 5000+ slots, live thoroughbred horse racing, and the addition of 112 new table games including blackjack, poker, roulette, craps, and more, will definitely keep you coming back for more. Other nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Historical Park and several other key civil war sites, whitewater rafting & tubing, hiking & biking, shopping, historic Charles Town, and historic and unique Shepherdstown. Whether you are in town for business, leisure, or just passing through, the accommodations at the Turf will make you feel right at home. Newly built section now open; offering more in-room amenities including Jacuzzi tubs and Wireless Internet access throughout. Standard amenities include microwave, refrigerator, alarm/radio, coffee maker, safe, iron, hair dryer. Superb dining available on-site at our famous Rib Room serving the Area’s Best Prime Rib, fresh seafood, hand-cut steaks, and exciting daily specials. Enjoy many other succulent breakfast, lunch, and dinner entrees or indulge in our free steak & eggs! After dinner, enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the Turf Lounge featuring big screen HD TVs, satellite sports packages, drink and food specials, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turf Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.