We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay at this dump!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   807 Willow Spring Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414 (Formerly Knights Inn - Charles Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay at this dump!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Broken window, dirty beat up door with no security chain, stains running down the wall, bathroom fan hanging down, tres shabby pull out sofa covered with some kind of cheap cover to hide the missing upholstery, room smelled like a combination of garbage and dirty socks, light fixtures over the bed non- functional, loose plates over electrical outlets, socket coming apart in the one of the lamps that did work.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Apinkoski,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us this past Winter. I am deeply concerned about the maintenance issues you experienced with us. Rest assured, we are doing our best to address these concerns so that other guests are not inconvenienced.


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    7
    6
    32
See reviews for
3
25
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The room was clean and certainly on a par for a "budget" level motel room - rate is about 50 to 60% of the going rate in Charles Town - No Complaints - will stay there again when we go back to Charles Town

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear cjant99,

Thank you for sharing an honest review with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us back in March. We take great pride in offering clean rooms at affordable prices. We hope that you stay with us again the next time you return to the area!



Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culpeper
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

if your going to pay the $84 for a room here u might as well and a few more dollars and stay at a name brand hotel. For $50 the room is ok. For $84 your severely overpaying. Matress was terrible withs spings felt though it. Woke up with back killing me. Forget about sex on the matress unless u want bruises from the springs.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Thank-goodness we spent less than an hour in the room, but it took twice as long to get our refund! Had booked a pet room that smelled horrendous, broken furniture that would be passed on by Goodwill, moldy smelling warm fridge, and linens had not been changed on one of the beds.
The very unpleasant attendant at the front desk tried to decline our request for two room keys as they were running low, and she then pulled out a well used key card sleeve which she erased the previous guests room number and then wrote ours on it. I was disgusted.
If you have a pet The Turf and Quality Inn are much better choices.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Frequent T,

I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a review with us. I am very concerned about the room issues you mentioned during your stay. Had we known, we would have gladly changed your room. Although we do allow pets, we do provide the same accommodations as our other rooms. Sorry for the inconvenience.



Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

It's near Hollywood Casino and that's the only good thing I can say about it. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and I'm not very picky. But for the price of this hotel its not at par with the venue. Maybe if the rate was around $30-$40, I would be more forgiving. But for the price of $84, it's pretty pricey. Concrete floors the hotel and in the hallway of the 2nd floor are broken. As we were about to enter our hotel room, I noticed that there are cobwebs as if it has not been used/maintained for weeks!Our hotel key did not work properly and you had to key it in a lot of times. The glass window outside of our room #234 is cracked. I did not feel safe. The shower curtain is stained. The hanger has cobwebs as well! The smell around the entire hotel area is dinghy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear richguapa25,


Thanks for posting a traveler review with us. I apologize for the issues you experienced while staying with us in 2013. We have recently hired and trained new housekeepers. We hope that these improvements will enhance the overall experience for future guests.



Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORSEHEADS
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The room its self is pretty clean. The beds are low old matresses. But the old cream colored sheets are clean but worn and dingey! Hardly a matress cover let alone a topper. Its sorta like sleeping on a cardboard box. Didnt feel real safe cuz some of the cars that never left were run down. Fiqured they were possible permanant tenants. Broken or turned off ice machine. It did have a nice average size flat screen tv with lots of channels. Small continental breakfast. Table with 2 chairs and love seat

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear lauriewaltz,


On behalf of the staff and management, I would like to thank you for sharing a review with us 2013. My apologies for not getting back to you sooner. We have recently added a few mattresses and other furnishings in a percentage of our rooms. We have also added a new bedding package to many of our rooms. Hopefully, you will give us another opportunity in the future.


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, AL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If this and other reviews do not convince you to stay away then I don't know what to tell you. We made the mistake of using this as a last resort because it allowed pets and was located near the casino in town. This dump turned out to be close to $80 a night and I would not have paid more then $25 for the room. Every part of the room was disgusting and needs to be refurbished and for the amount of money that it costs to stay here, management should be able to afford an update. Luckily we were on our way to a backpacking trip and had our sleeping bags to use on top of the bed. My wife and I are not super picky and I have lived and worked all over the world staying in less then ideal locations from hole-in-the-walls, huts, abandoned buildings, war torn areas, hostels and half of them not having any modern conveniences in Europe and the Middle East and had a better experience. Do not stay here....

Room Tip: Do not waste your time....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear mp_max07,


Thank you for sharing your experience with us from 2013. Sorry for taking so long to respond. I am concerned about the issues you experienced. Although we are an older motel, we do our best to provide clean and comfortable rooms at affordable prices. The surrounding hotels are charging much higher prices due to the Racetrack nearby. Please know that we have recently hired and trained new housekeepers. I apologize for any inconveniences.


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town

Address: 807 Willow Spring Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414 (Formerly Knights Inn - Charles Town)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn of Charles Town, WV, located in eastern West Virginia. Charles Town is less than five miles from the Virginia and Maryland borders. This town was founded by Charles Washington, brother of George Washington, in 1780. Our hotel is conveniently located near the famous Harpers Ferry National Park where many great events took place, and one of the best local attractions to visit. We are within walking distance of the American Military University, Jefferson County Museum, and Jefferson Memorial Hospital. Improve your handicap by playing a round of golf at Locust Hill Golf Course. Local restaurants include Shu Chen Restaurant, Mediterranean Cafe, and Applebee's Neighborhood Grill.Our pet friendly hotel is the ideal place to stay when visiting historical Charles Town. Wake up and enjoy our free continental breakfast served daily, catch up on current events and local news while enjoying a cup of coffee in our seating area. Take advantage of our laundry facility. The Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races offers free pre-scheduled shuttle service available all day to our guests. Stay connected with wireless high-speed Internet access available in our lobby area and select rooms. A peaceful night awaits you in one of our well equipped guest room with amenities including a coffeemaker, satellite TV with HBO, radio, hairdryer, desk with lamp, table and chairs, and free wake-up service. A microwave and mini-fridge may be available upon request. At Americas Best Value Inn Charles Town, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Knights Inn Charles Town
Charles Town Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.