We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even as a last resort, stay in your car!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   807 Willow Spring Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414 (Formerly Knights Inn - Charles Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Charles Town
Enterprise, AL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not even as a last resort, stay in your car!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If this and other reviews do not convince you to stay away then I don't know what to tell you. We made the mistake of using this as a last resort because it allowed pets and was located near the casino in town. This dump turned out to be close to $80 a night and I would not have paid more then $25 for the room. Every part of the room was disgusting and needs to be refurbished and for the amount of money that it costs to stay here, management should be able to afford an update. Luckily we were on our way to a backpacking trip and had our sleeping bags to use on top of the bed. My wife and I are not super picky and I have lived and worked all over the world staying in less then ideal locations from hole-in-the-walls, huts, abandoned buildings, war torn areas, hostels and half of them not having any modern conveniences in Europe and the Middle East and had a better experience. Do not stay here....

Room Tip: Do not waste your time....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    6
    6
    28
See reviews for
3
24
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We selected this hotel because the hotel we normally stay at was fully booked. Went through Priceline as we have many times never selected a one star property before but just needed someplace to sleep a few hours and figured how bad could it be. Disgusting smell (not smoke) musty and nasty, checked the bed sheets cigarette burns, stained and couldn't tell if clean, blanket was worn with many holes, pulled the mattress pad back and disgusting urine stains. We did not even sit down, took keys to office window and left for 3 hour drive at 2:30 a.m. Told Priceline they should not even offer this place it is disgusting. Also, there is no shuttle to casino as ad lists. Wish I would have had a camera with us the condition of the bed was unbelievable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Travelnutmex,

I appreciate the fact that you shared your experience with us. We are in the process of upgrading our bedding package. I am sorry that your room was not up to standard. I am addressing these issues with our staff. Our goal is for each of our guests to have a memorable experience with us.


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I am sorry I did not check the tripadvisor before coming to this place but I was hoping for aleast a clean place to stay for a couple days at the Horse Track! Dirty bath tub/shower, slow to no running water the sink and the manager/clerk only gave "I donot know why, my manager said this is ok"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear William T,

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. I am not sure if there were any specific issues we could address regarding your stay? We would have gladly switched your room or informed housekeeping to address the issues if we had known. I am sorry we could not meet your expectations.


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This is not a new place by any means. If you're looking for five star this is not it. The beds are a little lumpy but not too bad. There is coffee in the room, and you can get a refrigerator on request. There is a microwave for use in the office. Staff is friendly.

If you need a quaint, clean place to stay close to the action, this is it. Right across the road is the casino as well as Charlestown Race Track. Next door is the Mountain View Diner. Down home cooking with great breakfasts available 24 hours. Martins grocery is a short drive and well stocked 24/7.

Harpers Ferry is about a ten to fifteen minute drive and makes a delightful day trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear RG2B,

Thank you for posting a review with us. I appreciate your sincere feedback. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location to the Racetrack and Casino. We hope that you stay with us again in the future!


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

For $100 bucks a night this place was an all out poop hole..Completely disgusting! Smelled so bad like a porter potty I couldn't sleep. Towels looked dirty with what looked like crusty semen stains and sheets were stained. It made my skin crawl. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Peaceloveandturtles,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered. We provide clean and fresh linens in each of our guestrooms. Perhaps there could have been an issue with our laundry equipment that day. We would have gladly exchanged your towels upon request.


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the ABVI Charles Town while my husband went to Summit Point raceway. The Inn is VERY basic. From check in to departure it was an average experience at best. We had to wait ten minutes to check in as there were 2 guests ahead of us. The woman behind the desk was very curt with the other guests who were walk-ins. We had a booking so she was quite polite to us. This Inn is the old fashioned design seen off freeways all around the world - low set, drive up to your room style.

On getting to our room my worst fears were realised. On the surface it looked ok but on closer examination it was very run down. The A/C was rusted and VERY noisy to run so we had to turn it off to sleep. The toilet seat was broken. And the bed - oh dear! I am not 100% sure the sheets were fresh. They were greyish (meant to be white) and not crisp like freshly washed sheets should be. The blanket on the queen sized bed was twin sized at best, it did not even fit across the top of the bed let alone down the sides. It was also thread bare. There was no spare blanket in the room so we had to use the stained bed cover as an extra blanket as we were cold all night. I asked the cleaning staff for another blanket the next day but it never arrived!

A complimentary continental breakfast is provided but items were stale. I tried it the first day but did not bother the next day.

The location is pretty good. It is just off the highway and next door to a diner (ok) and a Ruby Tuesday (great food and staff).

And to top the experience off...I slipped on the worn carpet on the stairs taking luggage to the car and broke my foot!!! As I lay on the stairs, one of the cleaning staff walked by twice and laughed. I like to think it was a cultural difference and that she did not understand that I had badly injured myself but if I saw a guest of mine lying on stairs with luggage everywhere I think I would check that they were ok!!!

Room Tip: Hmmmm! Check the cleanliness before you go inside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Jenny N,

I am sorry for taking so long to respond. We are currently in the process of upgrading our bedding package. I hope that you are feeling better and your ankle is healing fine. I have addressed the issues with housekeeping that you had mentioned.


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA (Washington DC Metro)
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place is just fine for one night. It is a typical 1970's, drive up to your room motel. It was $67 (inc tax) for a holiday weekend night. It is within walking distance to the Hollywood Casino. We took a cab because it was unusually cold and windy - the cab ride was $3.50. The diner next door was decent and the waitress we had was a blast. The front desk person, Lynn, at the Value Inn was very helpful.

The bed was rock hard - not to my liking but fine for a night. I wouldn't walk shoeless on the carpet but I feel that way to varying degrees about every hotel room.

The room was old but clean.

We spend about 70 nights per year in hotel rooms, mostly in Marriott's. in this case we wanted someplace right near the casino that accepted dogs.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear DebraAtShopLaM,

Thank you for sharing an honest opinion regarding your stay with us. Although we are an older motel, we do our best to provide a pleasurable experience. I am also glad that you enjoyed our convenient location to the Casino and that we allow dogs. We hope that you stay with us again in the future.


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town

Address: 807 Willow Spring Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414 (Formerly Knights Inn - Charles Town)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn of Charles Town, WV, located in eastern West Virginia. Charles Town is less than five miles from the Virginia and Maryland borders. This town was founded by Charles Washington, brother of George Washington, in 1780. Our hotel is conveniently located near the famous Harpers Ferry National Park where many great events took place, and one of the best local attractions to visit. We are within walking distance of the American Military University, Jefferson County Museum, and Jefferson Memorial Hospital. Improve your handicap by playing a round of golf at Locust Hill Golf Course. Local restaurants include Shu Chen Restaurant, Mediterranean Cafe, and Applebee's Neighborhood Grill.Our pet friendly hotel is the ideal place to stay when visiting historical Charles Town. Wake up and enjoy our free continental breakfast served daily, catch up on current events and local news while enjoying a cup of coffee in our seating area. Take advantage of our laundry facility. The Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races offers free pre-scheduled shuttle service available all day to our guests. Stay connected with wireless high-speed Internet access available in our lobby area and select rooms. A peaceful night awaits you in one of our well equipped guest room with amenities including a coffeemaker, satellite TV with HBO, radio, hairdryer, desk with lamp, table and chairs, and free wake-up service. A microwave and mini-fridge may be available upon request. At Americas Best Value Inn Charles Town, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Knights Inn Charles Town
Charles Town Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.