We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Place with rude manager” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   807 Willow Spring Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414 (Formerly Knights Inn - Charles Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
Hinckley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Place with rude manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Shabby, unattractive, low end place, with a rude manager.Checked out two rooms and signed into one. Upon a closer inspection, decided it was not up to our standards and asked for a refund, but manager would not give one. Stayed one night, but could not sleep and could not wait to get out.

Room Tip: Book some where else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Ron C,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us. I am sorry it has taken so long to respond. I understand you had some issues with your room during your stay with us. We do try accommodate each and every one of our guests. If the room did not meet your expectations, we would have tried our best to accommodate you. Please understand, we incur additional costs of not being able to sell the room and can only offer a refund with a certain amount of time.



Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    7
    6
    33
See reviews for
4
25
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hollidaysbur,PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was the worst smelling motel we've ever stayed in. I would not recommend it to anyone. As soon as I walked into the room I started to gag. I was so glad we had taken our own sheets and blankets. If we had not I know we would have slept in our vehicle or just stayed over at the casino. I wish I would've asked for a refund.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Susan175,

Thank you for sharing a traveler review with us. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with us. We are currently in the process of upgrading our bedding. I am sorry we could not meet your expectations.


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My friends had told me they were very pleased with this hotel chain, so we decided to try it. The main reason for choosing this property was that they allowed dogs. I made the reservation online via Expedia. Upon arrival, we were told that we were being upgraded to a "King" room. However, there was no mention of the dogs on the reservation: when I mentioned that we were moved to a "Pets" room with two queen beds. The room was very shabby and the a/c spewed so much dust when turned on it caused a coughing fit. The reading lights by the bed didn't work at all, one was missing a bulb. After tracing the cord behind on of the beds we discovered that bare wires were showing under a poor taping job. The table by the front window was too big for the area and created a wind tunnel on the bed because the air was trapped under the table top. The box springs under the mattresses were filthy with stains and dirt. The water pressure in the shower and sink was a dribble. The a/c fan control was broken so it was either high or off, necessitating constant manipulation of the temp control to maintain some semblance of comfort.
The front door lock did not work; the chain was the only security on the door. Overall, I was VERY disappointed with the stay. They even made the attendant come to check the room out to make sure there was no pet damage before they would refund my $100 security deposit. If at all possible, I will kennel my dogs before another trip to Charles Town, or at the very least stay in one of the pet friendly hotels in Winchester. I did report my issues to America's Best Value Inns and they responded they were forwarding it to the hotel and I would get a reply via email. To date, over a month has passed and no replies received. Definitely do not recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Fayden,

On behalf of the staff of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to personally apologize for the poor experience you encountered with us. I am also sorry it has taken so long to respond. We do allow limited pets at our property. Due to the issues associated with pets such as allergies, we are only able to allow pets in certain rooms. We hope that you understand our stance regarding this. As for the other issues mentioned, we do our best to maintain standards. I will look into the matter and make any improvements where necessary.

Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Our room was $99 and was not worth any of it! The walls were filthy with dirt, cob webs and spider webs in all of the corners and the room smelt like mildew. The bathroom had hair all over the floor and around the toilet and there was no way we were taking a shower. We were given two washcloths and no towels but it wouldn't of mattered if they had provided towels. The chairs and table in the bathroom were full of dust and the legs on chairs were not stable. The queen size bed mattress was yellow and the pillows cases had yellow stains and what looked like blood. We ended up going to Walmart to buy a comforter, pillow cases and bed sheets.

Just don't stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Aski517,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. I am concerned about the issues you had mentioned during your stay. Please know that all complaints will be further investigated and the appropriate action taken. We have recently added new flat screen TV's to several of our rooms. We are also currently painting the exterior of the hotel. We hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you.

Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taneytown, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Visited your motel ...there were bugs in room 134 ---termites, owner flatly refuses to reconize he has a problem...but beware they will crawl on the wall and in the shower when the light is on. I emailed the West Virginia Health Department. Yuck...spend the $20 extra and rent a room at the Inn.

Room Tip: go to the Inn across the street....I found termites ...who knows what else is lurking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Sheila S,

Thank you for sharing a review with us. I apologize for any negative experience you encountered. The claim you had made regarding termites has been fully investigated by our local Health Department and no issues were found. I am sorry we could not meet your expectations.


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale City, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Once again, we found the beds very comfortable and the shower had hot water and good pressure. It's still conveniently located for anyone visiting the casino and race track.

We ate breakfast at the Mountain View Diner, which is across the parking lot. The food there is great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear VirginiaTraveler55,

Thank you for posting a traveler review with us. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and convenient location to restaurants and the casino. We value you as our guest and look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

If I could give a raiting of two and half, I would. The room was not poor but definitely less than average.

I was a little nervous to stay in this hotel after reading all of the horrible reviews. I figured we wouldn't be spending a lot of time in the room anyway so it wouldn't hurt to try it out.

The front desk people were nice enough. We made our reservation online and when we checked in I had to show my ID and fill out a card with my information. We were given two keys to the room, which was only 2 doors down from the office.

The rooms, as previously stated in other reviews, are run down. They could absolutely benefit from a coat of paint and a thorough carpet cleaning.

I would also suggest that they consider checking behind the maid once in a while. The room was...clean-ish. I checked for bed bugs, as I always do, and didn't find anything. The sheets looked clean, as did the blankets.

The small love seat/bench in the room looked pretty gross. It was covered with dust and what looked like dog hair. We didn't sit or put anything on it. As a smoker, I am not overly sensitive to cigarette smells. We were staying in a non smoking room because that was what was available. However, the bathroom REEKED of stale smoke. Lastly, and the one thing that really did gross me out, was the carpet. None of the corners had been vaccumed, in what looked like, ever. Maybe this is a small thing, but it would give the appearance of a much cleaner room even if the building is old and run down.

On the plus side, the free shuttle to the casino was awesome. We only had to wait a few minutes each time and they have plenty of shuttles so it was never overly crowded. There is a nice little mom and pop diner right next door from the hotel.

One final thing...if you are sensitive to noise, I would suggest staying on the second floor. It didn't bother me at all, but you can hear the water running from the rooms upstairs and people walking up and down the stairs.

All in all, I would say you definitely get what you pay for. I went in expecting the worse so in that regard, it was better than what I thought it would be. It is NOT the ritz but I don't think it's a roach motel, either.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear R S,

I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your opinion with us. Although we have an older property, we work hard to maintain our facilities. Recently, we have added flat panel TV's, painted the exterior, and now have Directv satellite to provide more channels for our guests. We hope that these improvements will enhance the overall experience.


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town

Address: 807 Willow Spring Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414 (Formerly Knights Inn - Charles Town)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn of Charles Town, WV, located in eastern West Virginia. Charles Town is less than five miles from the Virginia and Maryland borders. This town was founded by Charles Washington, brother of George Washington, in 1780. Our hotel is conveniently located near the famous Harpers Ferry National Park where many great events took place, and one of the best local attractions to visit. We are within walking distance of the American Military University, Jefferson County Museum, and Jefferson Memorial Hospital. Improve your handicap by playing a round of golf at Locust Hill Golf Course. Local restaurants include Shu Chen Restaurant, Mediterranean Cafe, and Applebee's Neighborhood Grill.Our pet friendly hotel is the ideal place to stay when visiting historical Charles Town. Wake up and enjoy our free continental breakfast served daily, catch up on current events and local news while enjoying a cup of coffee in our seating area. Take advantage of our laundry facility. The Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races offers free pre-scheduled shuttle service available all day to our guests. Stay connected with wireless high-speed Internet access available in our lobby area and select rooms. A peaceful night awaits you in one of our well equipped guest room with amenities including a coffeemaker, satellite TV with HBO, radio, hairdryer, desk with lamp, table and chairs, and free wake-up service. A microwave and mini-fridge may be available upon request. At Americas Best Value Inn Charles Town, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Knights Inn Charles Town
Charles Town Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.