We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Local Food in Charles Town WV” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dish

Dish
213 W Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414-1531
304-728-8464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 48 restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrific Local Food in Charles Town WV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

DISH is a local restaurant which emphasizes local food products in a menu that is seasonally adjusted. Prices are reasonable, the food is excellent as is the service. A very relaxed atmosphere adds to the enjoyment of dining at DISH.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    34
    39
    19
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owings Mills, Maryland
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Lunch at Dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had lunch at Dish. We had dinner on our first visit, so this was a different experience. Loved the food. I had the Fish & Chips and it was the best I ever had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Great food, understaffed table service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We came in for lunch at 1 PM on a Saturday and were immediately taken by the modern furnishings- a nice change from the cliche laden fast food restaurants that line the main street coming off Route 340. Unfortunately, our experience started off with a waitress greeting us with, "Sit wherever you want; I'll get to you when I have a chance." Okay!? Not exactly a greeting that is congruent with the restaurant's trendy and inviting website or the inviting decor. We decided to stick it out anyway and headed to the patio, where we found one empty table that had just been vacated.
Because it was a lovely sunny day, we enjoyed just sitting and chatting, and noticed the harried greeter was the only waitress for about 25 people outside and several more inside. It was clear we were going to have a very leisurely lunch, and we were glad we had no pressing plans.
The wait was certainly worth the excellent hamburger and salad I ordered- in fact, the hamburger was the best hamburger I can recall eating outside my own kitchen: homemade and seemingly made from scratch rather than a preformed patty bought at a warehouse. Absolutely delicious!
It's a shame that this restaurant suffers from a lack of staff. The chef deserves better consideration for his/her efforts, and the patrons deserve better service for the fine food that's served.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“A bit let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I showed up on a gorgeous summer day and was a bit hyped after checking out their web site, "local food". They were out of most of the dishes on the menu, so the options where slim. I went with a burger, average. I'm hoping this was just off day and not a typical day. The waitress was kind and helpful and they have a very nice back patio with gardens.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was a nice dinner. Menu choices limited but good. Odd that they didn't have several things we asked for- a beer on the menu, milk for coffee, regular tea. Prices reasonable for a nice restaurant. Food did come out a bit too quickly but we were not rushed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dish also viewed

 

Been to Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.