We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dish

Dish
213 W Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414-1531
304-728-8464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 50 Restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
ny
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was a nice dinner. Menu choices limited but good. Odd that they didn't have several things we asked for- a beer on the menu, milk for coffee, regular tea. Prices reasonable for a nice restaurant. Food did come out a bit too quickly but we were not rushed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    41
    19
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Solo dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great food with a unique atmosphere in the heart of downtown Charles Town, West Virginia. I came here alone and just sat visiting with the locals and took my time with the delicious meal that was brought to me. Very calming atmosphere and very attentive, friendly staff!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Went in, empty restaurant, said they couldn't serve us”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Wednesday afternoon, 4:15, came across this place. Looked charming, liked locally grown food concept. Went in, and restaurant was empty, finally found someone in the back who told us to come back at 5. On the door it said hours were from 11:30 - 9:00. Even if for some reason the kitchen wasn't ready, they could have at least offered us some bread and a drink at the bar. Charming place, but need to improve professionalism and business skills.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, comfortable atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you're visiting Hillbrook Inn or the Charles Town area, this the best place to eat. The atmosphere is nice, and the food is simple and tasty - especially for a picky eater like myself.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fresh food, locally sourced and exquisitely prepared.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I came here for dinner with a group of over 20 people. The menu, while limited, had great options for meat eaters and vegetarians alike. Our server was friendly and attentive and was even willing to provide separate checks with a smile. I ordered the farm salad, salmon entree, and limoncello mascarpone cheesecake (not your typical cheesecake, much lighter, more like a tiramisu). The wine and beer selection is diverse. I enjoyed a glass of Viognier in good company in a lovely setting. I would definitely recommend for those looking for special occasion dining or just interested in very fresh and flavorful cuisine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dish also viewed

 

Been to Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.