We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solo dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dish

213 W Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414-1531
+1 304-728-8464
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 56 Restaurants in Charles Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
“Solo dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great food with a unique atmosphere in the heart of downtown Charles Town, West Virginia. I came here alone and just sat visiting with the locals and took my time with the delicious meal that was brought to me. Very calming atmosphere and very attentive, friendly staff!

Visited July 2013
Thank Raenell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
357 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Went in, empty restaurant, said they couldn't serve us”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Wednesday afternoon, 4:15, came across this place. Looked charming, liked locally grown food concept. Went in, and restaurant was empty, finally found someone in the back who told us to come back at 5. On the door it said hours were from 11:30 - 9:00. Even if for some reason the kitchen wasn't ready, they could have at least offered us some bread and a drink at the bar. Charming place, but need to improve professionalism and business skills.

Visited July 2013
2 Thank msa23_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, comfortable atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you're visiting Hillbrook Inn or the Charles Town area, this the best place to eat. The atmosphere is nice, and the food is simple and tasty - especially for a picky eater like myself.

Visited June 2013
1 Thank MD6313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh food, locally sourced and exquisitely prepared.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I came here for dinner with a group of over 20 people. The menu, while limited, had great options for meat eaters and vegetarians alike. Our server was friendly and attentive and was even willing to provide separate checks with a smile. I ordered the farm salad, salmon entree, and limoncello mascarpone cheesecake (not your typical cheesecake, much lighter, more like a tiramisu). The wine and beer selection is diverse. I enjoyed a glass of Viognier in good company in a lovely setting. I would definitely recommend for those looking for special occasion dining or just interested in very fresh and flavorful cuisine.

Visited June 2013
Thank CasualCamperT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Classiest Restaurant in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you've won some money at the Casino or on the horses and feel like splurging a bit, you've come to the right place.
Reservations are a good idea here, you never know when the place will be booked up.
Dress here is casual to formal and service is attentive. When we ate here, we had a nice table near the bar and for those from "the big city" it will feel very familiar.
The restaurant is novelle cuisine with interesting entrees that vary with the season and with what the chef can get fresh.
Everything we tried, from appetizers to desserts was first rate and you will pay for the pleasure. This is easily the most expensive place we ate in during our visit, but no complaints. Service was excellent, setting lovely, wine list was good and the food was delicious.
If that credit card is burning a hole in your pocket, let it out for a run here, you'll be happy you did.

Visited June 2012
Thank Wamrazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dish also viewed


Been to Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing