We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, comfortable atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dish

Dish
213 W Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414-1531
+1 304-728-8464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 56 Restaurants in Charles Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Deerfield Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, comfortable atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you're visiting Hillbrook Inn or the Charles Town area, this the best place to eat. The atmosphere is nice, and the food is simple and tasty - especially for a picky eater like myself.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    56
    22
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh food, locally sourced and exquisitely prepared.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I came here for dinner with a group of over 20 people. The menu, while limited, had great options for meat eaters and vegetarians alike. Our server was friendly and attentive and was even willing to provide separate checks with a smile. I ordered the farm salad, salmon entree, and limoncello mascarpone cheesecake (not your typical cheesecake, much lighter, more like a tiramisu). The wine and beer selection is diverse. I enjoyed a glass of Viognier in good company in a lovely setting. I would definitely recommend for those looking for special occasion dining or just interested in very fresh and flavorful cuisine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Classiest Restaurant in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you've won some money at the Casino or on the horses and feel like splurging a bit, you've come to the right place.
Reservations are a good idea here, you never know when the place will be booked up.
Dress here is casual to formal and service is attentive. When we ate here, we had a nice table near the bar and for those from "the big city" it will feel very familiar.
The restaurant is novelle cuisine with interesting entrees that vary with the season and with what the chef can get fresh.
Everything we tried, from appetizers to desserts was first rate and you will pay for the pleasure. This is easily the most expensive place we ate in during our visit, but no complaints. Service was excellent, setting lovely, wine list was good and the food was delicious.
If that credit card is burning a hole in your pocket, let it out for a run here, you'll be happy you did.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

While walking around Charles Town on a Sunday afternoon (not much open) stopped in for a drink. Though the hours said they were open til 3, at 2pm when we went in a young lady advised us they were closed because the chef had left. When asked about a drink, she said she was only 18 and could not serve us. We had read so many wonderful things about this restaurant but left disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Let me Dish this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pricey but well worth it. Lunch is reasonable and I do that more often. They serve local seasonal fresh foods artfully cooked and presented in a lovely atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dish also viewed

 

Been to Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.