We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classiest Restaurant in Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dish

Dish
213 W Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414-1531
+1 304-728-8464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 56 Restaurants in Charles Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
132 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Classiest Restaurant in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you've won some money at the Casino or on the horses and feel like splurging a bit, you've come to the right place.
Reservations are a good idea here, you never know when the place will be booked up.
Dress here is casual to formal and service is attentive. When we ate here, we had a nice table near the bar and for those from "the big city" it will feel very familiar.
The restaurant is novelle cuisine with interesting entrees that vary with the season and with what the chef can get fresh.
Everything we tried, from appetizers to desserts was first rate and you will pay for the pleasure. This is easily the most expensive place we ate in during our visit, but no complaints. Service was excellent, setting lovely, wine list was good and the food was delicious.
If that credit card is burning a hole in your pocket, let it out for a run here, you'll be happy you did.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wamrazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

While walking around Charles Town on a Sunday afternoon (not much open) stopped in for a drink. Though the hours said they were open til 3, at 2pm when we went in a young lady advised us they were closed because the chef had left. When asked about a drink, she said she was only 18 and could not serve us. We had read so many wonderful things about this restaurant but left disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas_purdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Let me Dish this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pricey but well worth it. Lunch is reasonable and I do that more often. They serve local seasonal fresh foods artfully cooked and presented in a lovely atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not at the top of my list”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We visited Dish after seeing good reviews on another site. Unfortunately, we were not impressed. While the dishes sounded good, the menu was limited, the portion size was small and the prices a little high. When our table asked for straws we were told they just ran out and that it was earth week so they weren't using anything that was not reusable. At least 3 tables around ours had straws and there were several visible on the bar. We will not be returning.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank asdfjkjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A welcome option in Charles Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Charles Town is full of restaurants but very few that are not chains. It's great to have an attractive alternative with locally sourced, nicely prepared food. That said, we did not have a memorable meal. The menu was interesting but the food was just "very good" not exciting or all that interesting. Atmosphere is nice for a relaxed evening. The service was friendly and welcoming. I might go back but I won't hurry back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laviajeraliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dish also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing