We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classiest Restaurant in Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dish

Dish
213 W Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414-1531
304-728-8464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 51 Restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Elyria, Ohio
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Classiest Restaurant in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you've won some money at the Casino or on the horses and feel like splurging a bit, you've come to the right place.
Reservations are a good idea here, you never know when the place will be booked up.
Dress here is casual to formal and service is attentive. When we ate here, we had a nice table near the bar and for those from "the big city" it will feel very familiar.
The restaurant is novelle cuisine with interesting entrees that vary with the season and with what the chef can get fresh.
Everything we tried, from appetizers to desserts was first rate and you will pay for the pleasure. This is easily the most expensive place we ate in during our visit, but no complaints. Service was excellent, setting lovely, wine list was good and the food was delicious.
If that credit card is burning a hole in your pocket, let it out for a run here, you'll be happy you did.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    44
    20
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

While walking around Charles Town on a Sunday afternoon (not much open) stopped in for a drink. Though the hours said they were open til 3, at 2pm when we went in a young lady advised us they were closed because the chef had left. When asked about a drink, she said she was only 18 and could not serve us. We had read so many wonderful things about this restaurant but left disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Let me Dish this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pricey but well worth it. Lunch is reasonable and I do that more often. They serve local seasonal fresh foods artfully cooked and presented in a lovely atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not at the top of my list”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We visited Dish after seeing good reviews on another site. Unfortunately, we were not impressed. While the dishes sounded good, the menu was limited, the portion size was small and the prices a little high. When our table asked for straws we were told they just ran out and that it was earth week so they weren't using anything that was not reusable. At least 3 tables around ours had straws and there were several visible on the bar. We will not be returning.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A welcome option in Charles Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Charles Town is full of restaurants but very few that are not chains. It's great to have an attractive alternative with locally sourced, nicely prepared food. That said, we did not have a memorable meal. The menu was interesting but the food was just "very good" not exciting or all that interesting. Atmosphere is nice for a relaxed evening. The service was friendly and welcoming. I might go back but I won't hurry back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dish also viewed

 

Been to Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.