We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome option in Charles Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dish

Dish
213 W Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414-1531
304-728-8464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 48 restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A welcome option in Charles Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Charles Town is full of restaurants but very few that are not chains. It's great to have an attractive alternative with locally sourced, nicely prepared food. That said, we did not have a memorable meal. The menu was interesting but the food was just "very good" not exciting or all that interesting. Atmosphere is nice for a relaxed evening. The service was friendly and welcoming. I might go back but I won't hurry back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    34
    39
    19
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not dissapointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

food & atmosphere were just what we needed for the evening, with nice selection of local foods w/ live music to accompany it all

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Local farm food, great new chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The service here is great. I like the simple fact that they use many local farms to get their food from. Justin is new as a chef here but obviously he has experience putting together great menus. From really nice burgers to fancy dishes its all good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Porpoise, Maine
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went in to see the menu about 4pm and I noticed my favorite bourbon front and center on the back bar. I told the owner that was a good sign. He said if you like that you must try this West Virginia bourbon. He poured some in a glass with a little ice and it was very smooth. We returned later for a very nice dinner. This restaurant was recommended to us by Katlyn Frund, a waitress at the Yellow Brick Bank in Shepherdstown. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Never coming here again. Will go to Hardee's first.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Food is okay, not great, considering the high prices. Cleanliness is poor. I saw the Chef picking his nose in my way to the restroom. I am assuming he is the Chef because he was cooking at the time. Gross.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dish also viewed

 

Been to Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.