We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mediterranean Cafe

The Mediterranean Cafe
132 West Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414
304-724-9992
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Charles Town
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leonard, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were in the area for a high school graduation and family wedding. We always look on trip advisor for recommendations for restaurants and were very pleased with this restaurant! This is a small restaurant with down home service. The owner always made sure we were pleased with our food. They service complimentary hummas and after eating their freshly homemade hummas it will be hard to eat any other kind from the store. We were very pleased and will go back again if we are in the area. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    30
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newfield, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exceeded all our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

don't judge a book from it's cover. We took a chance and stopped for dinner and it was marvelous. Had a one man acoustical singer, great service, outstanding food. Excellent appetizers. Best chicken piccata I've ever had. We were very satisfied, and will definitely go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Owner-created”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Alberto and his staff seem to have the secret. They are attentive to their customers and the food is quite good. Very eclectic with the wall decorations. Only advice to Alberto: get rid of the flat panel screen with videos and streaming ads.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“We dined here 2 nights in a row while visiting Charles Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Mediterranean Café is a fun, friendly, popular and informal Restaurant that I highly recommend to locals and visitors alike. It has quality fresh food at reasonable prices, and the owner is a wonderful host who likes to please his guests and is concerned if you are fine with your selections so he is often seen coming out and talking to his customers. The have a beer and wine license with reasonably priced selections, and the menu is quite extensive, offering seafood, meat and vegetarian entrees and appetizers. It only has 8 tables and booths of various sizes, along with a couch like area along the back wall, which seems to be busy with friends and visitors waiting for tables. On Saturday night they had a singer/guitarist playing quietly. Its fun to look around and see the different decorations and bright colors. I wish Alfredo great success in his business.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“True Mediterranean, not just Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Great selection of Greek, middle Eastern, Italian, French, Spanish menu choices. Service is often by the owner and host Alfredo. Alfredo gladly presents his creations and will work to please any dietary restrictions. All guests are greeted with a nice complementary appetizer salad.I have visited often, recommend to friends and visitors. I have tried many of the dishes all scoring very well!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mediterranean Cafe also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to The Mediterranean Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mediterranean Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.