We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always come back here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mediterranean Cafe

The Mediterranean Cafe
132 West Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414
304-724-9992
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1 of 48 restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: French, Greek, Middle Eastern, Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We always come back here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our first visit was August 2012, and one year later we've dined there 4 times. It seems most of the eateries on this main street are the 'quick eats'. I like this place as a nice 'sit down' standard restaurant. Nothing fancy at all but a great menu. The idea of 'Mediterranean' in its true sense; that is that they serve food from Spain, Greece, Turkey, middle eastern. We have visited in the middle of the afternoon when we were the only patrons, and other times were at night but never crowded. The food is fantastic. The decor and atmosphere is a little shabby. The service is always top notch. Questions about the preparations are answered cheerfully. If you haven't tried this place yet go ahead and give it a chance.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    58
    23
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best little restaurant in Charles Town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This was a gem of a find. To have a Mediterranean restaurant out in horse country was fabulous. The food was awesome and to get some great hummus and salad as a free appetizer was just the tip of the ice berg. The shrimp ceviche was out of this world and the eggplant stew was phenomenonal. The service was great and i learned that the place had s face lift two weeks ago. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We found Alfredo's on restaurant.com and were sad to find upon arrival that the restaurant was no longer a participant. That was the ONLY disappointment of our visit.

We were greeted promptly and brought out an appetizer. At first bite, we knew we'd found a new favorite restaurant. It is evident that the food is fresh and made on site. Both our meals were delicious!

The decor is very fun and eclectic- we love small businesses that don't have that chain feel. It was comfortable and relaxed. We were the only ones there most of the time as it was July 4 and most of the town was shut down, so the owner was free to visit with us. We really enjoyed talking with him - very friendly!

We drive through Harper's Ferry when visiting family. This is a little past where we normally go, but we are determined to drive the extra few minutes for future visits and make this our "go-to" lunch spots on those days!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Don't be put off by the outside of the building because once inside the atmosphere was friendly and quite simply the food was delicious. Everything was fresh and tasty; shrimp that had the texture and taste of Greece - the salads crunchy and the hummus probably the best I have ever tasted. I have lived and traveled throughout the Mediterranean and the Middle East and I found this to provide an authentic experience. I just wish we lived nearer as this is the best meal we have had in a long long time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great Local Spot to Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My family and I stopped in on to try a local restaurant and we enjoyed both of our meals. The owner of the restaurant, Alfredo, is very personable and made the experience great. The interior of the restaurant is very comfortable with rugs on the floor and pillows on the benches. The night we were there, a live guitarist was providing the music. The hummus and pita appetizer was excellent. I had the chicken and saffron rice dish which was incredibly flavorful and filling. My wife enjoyed the chicken parmesan. We would definitely eat here again if we come back through this area. It is a hidden gem in the hills of West Virginia!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mediterranean Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Mediterranean Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mediterranean Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.