We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mediterranean Cafe

The Mediterranean Cafe
132 West Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414
304-724-9992
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Charles Town
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had a great Sunday lunch. Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and her recommendations hit the spot. I had the lamb kabobs and were cooked to perfection.
When we go back to Charles Town, this will be the first place we go for a meal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    30
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First time - will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

First time visit to this restaurant and first time eating Mediterranean Food. I can be a picky eater, but want to branch out. The food was delicious. Best hummas I've ever had. Alfredo (owner) is so thoughtful and caring and provides great service to his customers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We Had A Great Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just spent the night in Charles Town and came here based on the recommendations on this site. First off we did not know it was BYOB. We really wanted a glass of wine as we were on vacation so we went across the street to the wine store. Sign on the front said "Closed early. Been here since 10 and I"m tired. I'm going home to garden" Kate. Even though I was disappointed I loved the note and the reason we love Charles Town.

So we go back, explain our disappointment to the waiter, and he proceeds to give us a bottle of wine. He was given it a while back and does not drink. How great is that, another reason to love Charles Town.

OK on to the food. First off the complimentary appetizer of humus, cheese, and a tomato relish with pita was great. Then the entrees arrived. Wife got a pasta dish with sun dried tomatoes that was great. I ordered the eggplant and beef stew over rice. When it arrived it did not look like much and I was regretting my decision. But halfway through I had changed my mind. Both dishes were excellent and even with the Sprite I ordered the bill came to like $26.
Great bargain and an unexpected surprise in a small town like this.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food & Relaxed Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I were visiting Charles Town for a nice weekend away at the Carriage inn. The owners of the Inn, Donn and Marie, highly recommended this restaurant. So we gave it a try for dinner one night. It was just what we were looking for: authentic cuisine, friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere and last but not least, great food! The hummus is amazing and the tomato salad that comes with it is just as good. The falafel is seasoned perfectly with cilantro and parsley and the baklava is the perfect ending to a great dinner! An added bonus was a nice conversation with the owner on the history of the restaurant and future hopes for the place. We certainly wish him the best and will definitely return next time we are in town!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohnton, Pennsylvania, Usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food for the money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Cody is a great conversationalist. Food was excellent. BYOB but a wine store is across the street and 1 block down.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mediterranean Cafe also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to The Mediterranean Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mediterranean Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.