We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite cuisine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mediterranean Cafe

The Mediterranean Cafe
132 West Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414
304-724-9992
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 56 Restaurants in Charles Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favorite cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I love the Greek salad here! The pita is fresh, the owners (staff) are very friendly and everything I've had here was wonderful! Usually I just have whatever the lady suggests. That method works well. Good value for the money too. If you like Greek, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    48
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have been wanting to eat here for a long time, and I finally did. It exceeded my expectations! The hummus and pita bread plate was delicious, and the perfect amount of appetizer for 2 people. I had the mediterranean pasta, and my boyfriend had chicken cacciatore. They were both wonderful, and so was the limoncello cake. If that wasn't enough, we had a very attentive and friendly server. We will be coming back :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I just has lunch there and the Chicken Kabob was very good. Lots of places bring out a tea bag with some hot water but when I ordered hot tea, it came out as hot tea and was very satisfying.
I am told that dinner is quite good ( group of about 12 women were having luch while I was there) and one of the ladies told me that dinner was quite good and that she had the restaurant cater some parties. When in Charles town, I suggest checking this place out......

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Place for Kabobs and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife had their chicken marsala and let me tell she will probably get it every time we come back . . . it was fabulous. And my lamb kabobs were tender, juicy and out of this world. Our meal came with this great starter plate that had some of the best humus I had ever had. They do it right at the Mediterranean Cafe. Keep up the great work and we will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little bit of Marakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a favorite...Low, comfortable benches,...Middle Eastern music, the best home-made hummous, grape leaves and babba ganoush anywhere. The salads are so fresh,it seems like the enzymes are jumping off the plate...And the grilled beef and lamb kabobs are divine. You are allowed to bring your own wine,without a corking fee. The owner, Alfredo, is a consciencious host as well as (one of ) the chefs. I took a very finnicky friend here for lunch, and he can't wait to go back. Another great thing: It's open all afternoon, so you can stop by at 3 or 4 pm, for a bakklava with tea or a late lunch, and you will get Alfred's kind, thoughtful service throughout.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mediterranean Cafe also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to The Mediterranean Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mediterranean Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.