We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Marakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mediterranean Cafe

The Mediterranean Cafe
132 West Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414
304-724-9992
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Charles Town
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A little bit of Marakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a favorite...Low, comfortable benches,...Middle Eastern music, the best home-made hummous, grape leaves and babba ganoush anywhere. The salads are so fresh,it seems like the enzymes are jumping off the plate...And the grilled beef and lamb kabobs are divine. You are allowed to bring your own wine,without a corking fee. The owner, Alfredo, is a consciencious host as well as (one of ) the chefs. I took a very finnicky friend here for lunch, and he can't wait to go back. Another great thing: It's open all afternoon, so you can stop by at 3 or 4 pm, for a bakklava with tea or a late lunch, and you will get Alfred's kind, thoughtful service throughout.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    72
    30
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice local Mediterranean fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Flavorful, moderately priced Med food. We only had the Lebanese type dishes, so I can't speak to the Italian. The dishes were perfectly seasoned, and the hummus was especially tasty in the olive/hummus and pita bread you're started off with. I will say the lamb was overcooked on both dishes, so there's room for improvement, but overall I really enjoyed my meal. And the decor def could use some help as some people mentioned - as with most other places around the area. I just don't think the profit margins are high enough for most of these establishments to pay for pricey, modern renovations to decor. But the food was solid, the owner was super nice, and we'll certainly return if we're back in the area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mc Lean
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“I LOVE this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I had lunch there with family and as a first time visitor, I was impressed. It is a cozy restaurant with booths and tables, with Mediterranean eclectic decor. In addition to Med food, they have Greek and Italian dishes, but we saw no need to stray to that. They bring a complimentary plate of hummus, pita, olives, etc. to the table which was fresh, and delicious. We had a wonderful salad w/ lamb kabob, limoncello cake and baklava- all were fantastic! Until they get their liquor license, you can bring in your own bottle of wine (or go across the street to the wine and cheese shop and get one w/10% discount) to accompany your meal-a very nice bonus!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Food is so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I love the atmosphere of this place and the food is SO delicious! Definitely consider this place if you are looking for something different and relaxing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The menu has a variety of choices, which makes it easy for everybody to find something they like. Food tasted amazing and we will definitely eat there again.The owner was very friendly and helpful!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mediterranean Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Mediterranean Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mediterranean Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.