We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice large quiet room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Charles Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn at Charles Town to your Saves list
The Inn at Charles Town
100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A very nice large quiet room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

While not interested in gaming, we wanted a place close to Harper's Ferry that could accommodate a family staying in one room, as b & b's are the choice there. The Inn at Charles Town is reasonably close, and we enjoyed our stay. With a casino next door, we anticipated hearing noise late at night, but were pleasantly surprised by the quietness of our floor and the hotel in general. Our room was larger than expected with excellent comfortable beds, nice linens, and a spotless bathroom. Breakfast was very nice, and a notch above the usual included hot breakfast. Staff was very helpful in recommending non-gaming things to do, and restaurants off property.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear TUFish,

Thank you for choosing The Inn at Charles Town and for your kind feedback. The Inn at Charles Town strives to provide excellent care and Red Carpet Customer Service to each and every guest. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Warmest regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    51
    25
    4
    7
See reviews for
21
90
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very decent hotel; nice room, comfortable bed and pillows. Carpet in hallway had a few stains, but chocked up to wear. Front Desk staff friendly and plenty of parking. Hotel located in walking distance of the casino, but has 24 hour shuttle to the Casino and raceway. Nice buffet breakfast with real bacon. Sheetz gas station next door, Ruby Tuesday and other businesses nearby, including a WalMart. Only 90 mins from Washington, DC area. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Levonnia M.,

We sincerely appreciate your helpful and insightful feedback, and are glad that you found the room, bedding, and breakfast buffet to your liking. Since your stay, I am happy to let you know that all of our hallway and lobby carpeting has undergone its routine deep-shampooing, thank you for not minding while our floors were in transition! Thank you for commenting on The Inn at Charles Town’s prime proximity to other locations and businesses in the Charles Town and tri-state area. Our convenient place in the eastern Panhandle of West Virginia allows us to provide the best of the urban Hollywood glam with the relaxation and hospitality of a small town. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at The Inn At Charles Town and upgraded to a room overlooking the horse track... Well worth the few dollars more! The room was very clean and fairly standard sized for a room with two Queen beds. The TV was oversized and the bathroom very large and nicely appointed. The bath ammentities were excellent! (I LOVED them!) The hotel offers a free shuttle to the Casino and we were happily surprised to find non-smoking areas within the Casino. All in all a great experience.....

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Jodi H.,

Thank you for sharing your hotel experience! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your trackside accommodations, many people express to us how much they like having that feature available and we are glad we are able to provide it. The Inn always tries to provide our guests with the best and most comfortable amenities, and we are overjoyed that our room and bath conveniences were notable enough to deserve your praise. We cannot wait to have you stay again with us, and invite you to return soon!

Warm Regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there Thursday through Saturday June 26-28,2014. Had a great room king size bed 42in. TV refrigerator and free breakfast. They even have shuttle to casino that runs 24hours! Very clean rooms and friendly staff made it a great time!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Tim S,

You are always family when you stay with us! It is very heartwarming to hear that we make you feel at home. Thank you for your comments on our feature amenities; we are always glad when we are able to provide relaxing and convenient services for you during your stay. Actually, we’ve recently refurnished and redecorated our third and fourth floors to provide a more modern and comfortable experience for all of our guests, a true home away from home! Your kind feedback is greatly appreciated! We hope to have you home with us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have been here several times in recent years and are always pleased with everything and everyone here. We had not had any complaints. We look forward to visiting again soon. We feel safe and secure. The hotel and landscaping are pretty and it is just a nice place. Breakfast is nice and the ladies work to keep everything replenished and clean. The front desk folks are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and the folks working with them are so pleasant and do an outstanding job. There are always lots of guests and I've never seen any of they upset about anything either.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
June S,

Thank you so much for your kindhearted and generous compliments! We appreciate your feedback! It is our greatest pleasure to provide you with an exceptional hotel experience. The safety and well-being of our guests is always our first priority, and we are delighted that you found it so praiseworthy. We are pleased that you found our staff to be so amiable and helpful, as we always strive to provide our signature Red-Carpet customer service to each and every guest, every visit. We look forward to having you stay with us again very soon!

Warm Regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I am hoping that someone from the Hotel will contact me and provide a contact name of the management. I have stayed at this Hotel about 7-10 times and enjoyed my stay each time. No issues...until yesterday 6/17 at check in. Here's what happened. The time I stayed there before which was about a week ago I asked if I could bypass the (credit card) charge and just pay a cash deposit of $100. They said no problem....<<<Important to remember. I paid the deposit and had a great time. No issues. Checked out and received my $100 back that next morning which is much more convenient than giving the credit card which takes about 1 week to get reimbursed. OK, moving along. Yesterday I checked in and as they normally do they asked for a credit card. I said I prefer to pay the $100 deposit in cash as I did last time. This is when everything went to hell. Julie I believe her name was who I was not dealing with said that the $100 is a ONE TIME deal. I said last time I came in no one said anything that would lead me to believe this is a one time deal. Then the attitude starting coming out with her. I said, how am I as the customer to know that this was a ONE TIME deal. I pointed out that on the receipt I had from the cash deposit that there is NOTHING that says this is a one time only method to pay the deposit. She then said which really flamed the fire. "We just checked on the computer and it says it on there" as if I have access to that. I pointed out and said..."How am I as the customer to know what is on your screen or computer". She said nothing. I asked if she could at least acknowledge that there is no way I would have known that understanding that no one told me, there was NOTHING in writing and then I looked her in the eye and said, you really don't care do you. She smurked and said I have been here for 5 years and do care. Bottom line is that I was treated like an idiot. I had to drive to the bank to deposit money in it to allow the card to be covered. I was so tempted to just walk out but I will never go back but I had driven so far. If I was the manager I would have fired her on the spot by the way she was treating me. I have never dealt with her in the past thankfully. Everyone else I have dealt with there was pleasant very nice. She was a terrible representative and unfortunately this will cost the hotel and casino which I have visited even before it became a Casino thousands of dollars. Until I get an apology from her belittling me and treating like some idiot I will never go back or recommend this place at all. Sorry. So, if you want to give them a cash deposit which I would think would be easier, forget about it. Not worth the hassle they give you.

Room Tip: I usually get a room by the elevator but I've enjoyed any room I have been given. You can watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Eddie E,

Thank you for choosing The Inn at Charles Town, and sharing your valuable feedback. We strive to provide Red Carpet Customer Service to all of our guests, and we are deeply saddened that we failed to do so. This unfortunate occurrence has given us an opportunity to reevaluate our guest check-in policies and procedures, and to help better the guest experience. If you wouldn’t mind, please send your contact information to me directly at Brett.Sullivan@pngaming.com.

Warm Regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a really nice, brand spankin' new, hotel. EXCEPTIONAL for the area and reasonably priced. Everything is clean, the staff is friendly and helpful and the location is PRIME. That being said, we've only been able to stay there once. We've tried several times to make reservations, walk-in, etc and there is never a room available. Our fall back is Hampton Inn, which is nice but no where near as nice as The Inn. I would definitely stay again, if I can get a room!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Maureen,

Thank you so much, your kind compliments flatter and humble us. We are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide outstanding Red Carpet Customer Service. We definitely look forward to seeing you again soon! Usually our busiest days at the Inn are through the weekend, Thursday- Sunday, and our accommodations can be limited at times. However, as soon as you know when you would like to stay again, I invite you to make a reservation as early as possible with our reservation center at 1-304-885-5800. You can also reserve a room online at www.hollywoodcasinocharlestown.com/hotel. Both will have the most up-to-date information on the rooms that we have available and our current rates. The Inn at Charles Town is so glad that you enjoyed your previous stay and I hope you will find this information helpful for your next visit.

Warmest Regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Charles Town

Address: 100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Charles Town features 153 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites with fantastic views of the backstretch of the Thoroughbred Racing Track. A hot complimentary breakfast buffet is served daily for all hotel guests. A state of the art fitness room is provided along with lavish lobby bar, guest business center and guest laundry facility. Wireless internet access is available for all guest accommodations, lobby, and meeting rooms. The guest accommodations are where the pampering begins. Luxurious bedding, plush terry, granite counters and 42 flat panel televisions are featured in every room and suite. Of course, standard amenities like in room coffee, iron and ironing board and hair dryers are featured in every room. Executive and VIP Suites offer additional features such as refrigerators, pull out sofa beds, vanity make up mirrors, rich and comfortable bathrobes, and upgraded bath amenities. A complimentary shuttle service takes you to the racetrack, casino action and to any of the nine restaurant options at Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.