We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Clean and Right Next to Hollywood Casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Charles Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn at Charles Town to your Saves list
The Inn at Charles Town
100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Service, Clean and Right Next to Hollywood Casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

room was very clean, fresh linens each day, bed was comfy. thought the hotel was connected to the casino. It is not but nice there is a shuttle service to and from the casino. complimentary breakfast was good.. would stay again. only negative it didn't have a pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
surfingatwork,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very happy to hear about your pleasant stay. We look forward to providing Red Carpet Cutomer Service during your next getaway to the Inn at Charles Town!

Kindest Regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    51
    25
    4
    7
See reviews for
21
90
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here a couple weeks ago... The first room was on a lower floor and when we entered the room I noticed it had not been properly cleaned (hair on bathroom floor and toothpaste still in sink) There was also a used towel on the floor... Ok no big deal, I went back downstairs and explained the situation they must have thought the room had been cleaned, but the front desk lady was not very nice... instead the house keeping manager moved us to a room on the 4th floor which was more updated and a nicer room... Overall an okay hotel... The next morning was a breakfast bar..but it was just okay.. nothing super special and somewhat boring.. Overdone eggs, and some bacon, yogurt, toast and juice... Would I go back to this hotel if ever back in Charles Town... um probably not.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Pjtime,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Our entire staff strives to provide Red Carpet Customer Service to all of our guests and we are sorry to hear that we did not do so. Please be assured that have taken your feedback to help improve the areas that you expressed in your review. Please contact me directly if you would reconsider staying with us again.

Kindest Regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Considering this is the most expensive hotel in Charles town, I expected more. Overall the room was clean. Fresh linens. The mattress was horrible. Found leftover hair from previois guest in shower. Could tell it was cleaned but shower design requires a bit of extra work. Definitely expected better for the cost. Breakfast was what you would expect for free, however I've had better at other chains. I realize you are paying for location(right next to casino) but I was disappointed. Would not stay again. Will save the money and stay at another chain within minutes too. The staff was friendly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Director of Hotel Operations at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Julie D,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize if you were at all dissatisfied with our accommodations. Our entire staff strives to provide Red Carpet Customer Service to all of our guests and we are sorry to hear that we failed to do so. We can only hope that you and your family would consider staying with us again in the future so that we may improve upon your impression of our hotel. Thank you again for sharing your comments

Kindest Regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Alto, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

This trip we visited for my husband's birthday. We have stayed in the past as well and the staff is always very friendly. This time we stayed in the Junior Suite. It was very spacious. The rooms and common areas are always very clean. Free breakfast buffet was filling. Free shuttle to casino was convenient and runs pretty frequently. We will definitely stay again as we are already planning a return trip in the spring.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinsville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

went with my friend and her mother. there is 10 year span for each of us. oldest used a walker and her first trip to a casino (which was the purpose of trip).
hotel was very pretty and nice. buffet breakfast not excellent. eggs not good.
we rode bus to casino and back. most people were there for the casino.
rooms at hotel were very nice.toiletries basically good, except shampoo, etc were in the thin hard bottles which are hard to get out.
I would go back again. it was sept. and great weather and pretty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Everything was great for this type of hotel. We got a trackside room and were able to watch the horse races each night from our room and had the opportunity to see them exercising in the morning. We stayed there to go to Harpers Ferry and we are really not interested in gambling. We did have dinner at the casino by using the shuttle bus to get there. The shuttle bus ride and the dinner were great. Wish on the Trip Advisor site they had a real picture of the hotel. Also, the starting prices for the hotel are over $100 higher than what we paid for our room.

Room Tip: Choose a trackside room for a view of the horses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I arrived there at the Inn at Charlestown to stay for our wedding anniversary, expecting to have a great time and add to our memories. Upon arrival, things were not as we anticipated. We visited the casino and were further
disappointed. All that resulted in our checking out the next morning earlier than we had planned. Once back home I called and made my issues known. To my surprise !!!!!!!!!!!!! I was called back by the VP to address my concerns ( HOW AWESOME) we spoke in detail and he assured me all issues would be dealt with in an expedient manner. I think that says so much about this company. I had what I would consider "general" issues and my point was only to advise them they have always given 7star service across the board and when it fell a notch or two, it needed to be spoken on, by long standing patrons. I indeed did not think that my little issues would make the BIG DOGS ears perk up and take notice. That said, I am very impressed, that ANY ISSUES the customer has are handled in a professional, timely & business manner. Thank you for hearing me out In full, I did not have a complaint or grievance, just some good feedback from the customer's perspective. My wife and I are know making plans to go back as soon as time permits. We encourage other readers to spend their money at the Inn at Charlestown with confidence !!!!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the horse track they are very panoramic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Charles Town

Address: 100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Charles Town features 153 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites with fantastic views of the backstretch of the Thoroughbred Racing Track. A hot complimentary breakfast buffet is served daily for all hotel guests. A state of the art fitness room is provided along with lavish lobby bar, guest business center and guest laundry facility. Wireless internet access is available for all guest accommodations, lobby, and meeting rooms. The guest accommodations are where the pampering begins. Luxurious bedding, plush terry, granite counters and 42 flat panel televisions are featured in every room and suite. Of course, standard amenities like in room coffee, iron and ironing board and hair dryers are featured in every room. Executive and VIP Suites offer additional features such as refrigerators, pull out sofa beds, vanity make up mirrors, rich and comfortable bathrobes, and upgraded bath amenities. A complimentary shuttle service takes you to the racetrack, casino action and to any of the nine restaurant options at Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Inn at Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.