We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Ponies?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Charles Town

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Charles Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Charles Town
100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Charles Town
Babylon, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Like Ponies?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We took a little detour on the way home from Greensboro, North Carolina to New York. This is a great short getaway hotel. The hotel itself is comfortable and has good wi-fi and a decent breakfast. Since it is a casino hotel, prices are reasonable for what you get. We had a room facing the thoroughbred racetrack. What a fabulous idea! They race at night, I think year round and six nights a week. In the mornings and throughout the day the horses exercise and workout, maybe a dozen at a time. Really neat to watch. A shuttle runs 24/7 to the Casino, which is a well kept small one with table games. The race track is entered through the Casino. A thoroughly enjoyable (and, in this instance, profitable) stay.

Room Tip: Get a trackside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    49
    21
    4
    7
See reviews for
19
82
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delaware, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have been traveling Rte 81 for 14 years and finally decided to take some time to see the scenery. Travelled Skyline Drive from South Point to Luray, went to the Luray Caverns and Car Museum, then travelled 81 to Inn at Charlestown. We had no reservations but the hotel staff was quite helpful and pleasant. Got a trackview king room - everything was clean, comfy and watching the horse the next morning was absolutely divine. The shuttle from the hotel took us to the Casino for dinner
Dinner was great, but the Casino was way to smoking for us. Breakfast at the hote was superior to most help yourself buffets. Would go back there for Harpers Ferry and historical sites again. But never for the Casino.

Room Tip: Get one with a track view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

1. Front Desk: The front desk people are friendly and flexible. We stayed for 6 days. They let me extend the 1100 check out for one hour with no fuss.

2. Wi-Fi: Unlike other motels, the free wi-fi had excellent bandwidth. I was able to watch youtube and MLB games with no buffering interruptions. The Wi Fi was down for maintenance only once.

3. Free Breakfast: It is great- considering it is free. Scrambled eggs of two sorts, sometimes bacon. Delicious yogurt and pastries. The free food frees your money up so you can spend it on gambling and dinner at the casino. However, the breakfast room is often overcrowded. There are lots of corpulent people taking up room and getting multiple plates they do not need. There is a nice patio for sitting outside, but there are lots of bugs, I think, because you are right next to the horses at the track. There is HD TV, unfortunately they play those dopey crybaby morning news shows. How about 2 TVs, one with sports on it? Maybe they don't people to hang around the breakfast room for too long.

4. Kids: Don't bring them. There is nothing for them to do. There is no arcade and you cannot bring them on the gaming floor even just to get to a restaurant.

5. Shuttle is reliable but it gets old. There ought to be a walkway to the casino. There is no way to walk there safely even though the casino cannot be even 1/4 mile away

6. Bathrooms: The toilets go whoosh and flush great. The Inn ignored the Eco Nazis and must have installed Colby-like crappers. The towels are thick and huge and the shower space is terrific. It is enclosed by a see-through glass door which makes you feel less shut in and, shall we say, on display for your room mate.

7. Beds: The bedding is so fluffy and comfy that I would fall asleep lying on it even if I was not tired.

8. Stairs and elevators: A little inconvenient. The stairs are located only all the way down at each end of building. The elevators tend to be a little slow because they are overused.

9. TV: Great quality HD TV, but the sports offerings are lame. There was a great Orioles-Yankee game going on, but the Inn did not provide the broadcast. It offered about 4 sports channels, but there was only tennis, WNBA, soccer and some other lame affair. But this is common to many motels. They mean well, but for some reason don't want to show current baseball games. To be fair, this Inn carried NFL Network, so you could see some good football reruns.

10. Fitness Room: Mediocre, but then you are not going on vacation to work out, are you? There are only 4 machines and it appears the Inn has adjusted these machines so that you won't work out too hard. I can't blame them. They don't want anyone croaking of a heart attack on them. If you want to get some exercise, I suggest you go to the nearby park on Mildred Street. It is only 1 1/2 miles away and it has a wonderful walking path.

11. Area Attractions: To take a brief break from gaming, we went to a great Farmer's Market downtown. They had tasty local fruit, honey, plants, and baked goods. There is also, of course, Harper's Ferry. Downtown Charles Town always seems to have something interesting going on.

12. Housekeeping: Housekeeping ladies are very sweet and reliable. If we left a tag on the door asking for service, we always got it. We left them a nice tip.

Room Tip: If you like using stairs, stay away from the middle rooms. Both sets of stairs are a long way away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a casino hotel. It is a good price and updated in every area. We came in late and asked for a walk-in rate and they were very accomodating. 11:00 a.m. Checkout gave us time to enjoy the full buffet breakfast. It was a great hotel at a great price with a great attitude.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We we're visiting Harpers Ferry with no plans for the night and stopped in, the place was beautiful the front desk staff was friendly and having the casino with so many restaurants so close was perfect. They have a little shuttle that runs every 10 minutes, so we parked the car and stayed two days instead of one.

Free breakfast included and not just coffee and danish. A good breakfast, eggs, pancakes, sausage, bagels, toast, fruit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Not attached to Casino,so what! shuttle runs every 15'.During weekday price 109.00$.Clean comfy room.Beautiful decor.And the Breakfast Buffet.Plenty of good selections and an out door patio if you wish.Room so cool and nice.

Room Tip: Loved it.Great breakfast,quick shuttle.Weekends are pricy,but if you can travel during week.,great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were led to believe this was a hotel attached to a nice casino. My boyfriend and I went to meet my parents there because it was in between their place in Ohio and our places in Virginia. The room was $256 for one night on the first floor overlooking a parking lot. So disappointing. Stay at the Hampton or somewhere else nearby as they are as close.

It isn't attached (not even close) to the the casino or race track in Charles Town. You have to wait for a shuttle to go to and from (at least a fifteen minute wait each way). Really ridiculous. The breakfast buffet was a joke. No view, nothing. The bed was comfortable, so two points for that. Awesome front staff, have to say. Otherwise, forget it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Charles Town

Address: 100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Charles Town features 153 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites with fantastic views of the backstretch of the Thoroughbred Racing Track. A hot complimentary breakfast buffet is served daily for all hotel guests. A state of the art fitness room is provided along with lavish lobby bar, guest business center and guest laundry facility. Wireless internet access is available for all guest accommodations, lobby, and meeting rooms. The guest accommodations are where the pampering begins. Luxurious bedding, plush terry, granite counters and 42 flat panel televisions are featured in every room and suite. Of course, standard amenities like in room coffee, iron and ironing board and hair dryers are featured in every room. Executive and VIP Suites offer additional features such as refrigerators, pull out sofa beds, vanity make up mirrors, rich and comfortable bathrobes, and upgraded bath amenities. A complimentary shuttle service takes you to the racetrack, casino action and to any of the nine restaurant options at Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.