We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Charles Town

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Charles Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Charles Town
100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Charles Town
Belcamp, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

For my first trip to W. VA, I decided to stay at The Inn at Charles Town and I was not disappointed. I picked this hotel because my husband and I wanted to do a little gambling, and I knew this was the closest hotel. I was pleasantly surprised upon arriving as the word "Inn" typically has negative connotations with it. I'd consider this to be among the ranks of certain Marriott brand hotels as far as decor, bed comfort, amenities and overall atmosphere. Everything exceeded my expectations.
They offer a shuttle bus to and from the casino every 15 minutes, which is convenient on rainy/snowy days. Breakfast is included in your rate and this had to be one of the best hotel breakfast's I've ever had. This was more of a buffet type of breakfast rather than the continental style that most hotels offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    45
    20
    4
    7
See reviews for
15
78
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King George, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a great getaway. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. They serve a great hot breakfast. The room was extremely quite. The staff was great.The shuttle service ran every ten to fifteen minutes. Just a Great Weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I always stay here whenever I need a place to lay my head after a night of gambling. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are so relaxing. Everything is new updated. They serve continental breakfast in the mornings which is pleasing to the palate. They also have a free shuttle bus that runs every 10-15 minutes, around the clock that takes you to the casino. Since I have a Hollywood Rewards card they usually send me coupons I can use towards hotel stays.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed overnight in the Executive Suite...it was a bit pricey, but very nice accommodations. The living area was large, the bed was comfortable, all toiletries were provided in a nicely appointed bathroom with large shower. We enjoyed watching several evening races from our balcony. Unfortunately, we woke up too late to comment on the breakfast buffet, but overall it's a quiet and clean Hotel. We didn't use the shuttle service. We found it just as convenient to take our car to the casino and park in the garage there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I brought my husband here for his 50th birthday. We stayed in one of the suites overlooking the race track. The room was spacious, clean, and neat. I am glad we stayed in this room because we enjoyed watching the races from the comfort of our room. The shuttle service to the casino was convenient and ran on a regular basis. My only suggestion would be to go early for the free buffet breakfast. The crowd is heavy at 9:00 am and seating is limited. Otherwise, we will be back.

Room Tip: The suites overlooking the race track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to Charles Town on 02/15/2013 for a one night trip for some gambling. Stayed at the Inn at Charles Town and was pleasantly surprised by how nice it was. We stayed in an Executive Suite (it was the only room available) which was a 2 room suite. The 2nd room does not have a door though and pull out couch is the worst thing ever. The mattress was 4 inches thick, maybe and all you could feel was coils. No one could sleep on that!! I called down to see if our friends could get another room as they could not sleep on that as planned but no rooms available. The room overlooked the race track, nice but lights are very bright and stay on late and shine in your room. We were not in room much so not really an issue. They warmed the horses up in the morning, so that was kind of cool to watch. Great free breakfast in the morning. Bought cokes from the front desk and they were regular prices, could not believe it. No smoking in any of the balcony rooms or suites...I don't get this at all. Who cares if you smoke on the balcony??!! They have smoking rooms in the hotel so why not allow smoking on the balcony? Room was $330, pricey for West Virginia in my opinion. But it was a very nice room and I would stay there again! Shuttle runs to casino 24 hours a day, its only a 2 minute trip and runs constantly so not much waiting. Great experience overall and can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife had received coupons as part of a promotion from the Hollywood Casinos. We decided to take them up on the offer of a free night. It was just a quick getaway to change the scenery. The hotel is nothing special from the outside. Inside it is very modern, very clean, and inviting. We found the desk clerks to be very pleasant and helpful. They demonstrated great attitudes and a willingness to be useful. We were very blessed to be upgraded to a suite. We found the room to be clean and spacious. We loved the Keurig coffee makers in the room as good coffee in the morning is a must for me. The beds were very comfortable. I even enjoyed the pillows, though be warned--they are feather pillows. Our side faced the racetrack. It was fun to watch the beautiful horses as they trained in the morning. The breakfast buffet is simple yet just fine for what is needed. I have seen more variety at say a Fairfield Inn or Residence Inn, but here you had the basics: mini cheese omelets, bacon, toast, sweet rolls, cereal, juice, coffee and tea. It was tasty and got you going in the morning. They have a shuttle that runs back and forth to the casino; we did not use it but observed plenty of others doing so. As I mentioned in the title, it was one of the quietest hotels I have every enjoyed. Since the main function in a hotel room is sleeping, that makes all the difference in the world. And oh yes, the wifi is free. I know the larger chains make money off the daily wifi charge. They should smarten up and give it away. It's the cherry on top of the ice cream for me. We liked the hotel so much, we have already planned another weekend escape for March. One more thing: the room had a Bose CD player, so be prepared with your favorite CD's for some mood music.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Charles Town

Also Known As:
The Inn At Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
The Inn At Charles Town Hotel
Hotel Charles Town
Address: 100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Charles Town features 153 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites with fantastic views of the backstretch of the Thoroughbred Racing Track. A hot complimentary breakfast buffet is served daily for all hotel guests. A state of the art fitness room is provided along with lavish lobby bar, guest business center and guest laundry facility. Wireless internet access is available for all guest accommodations, lobby, and meeting rooms. The guest accommodations are where the pampering begins. Luxurious bedding, plush terry, granite counters and 42 flat panel televisions are featured in every room and suite. Of course, standard amenities like in room coffee, iron and ironing board and hair dryers are featured in every room. Executive and VIP Suites offer additional features such as refrigerators, pull out sofa beds, vanity make up mirrors, rich and comfortable bathrobes, and upgraded bath amenities. A complimentary shuttle service takes you to the racetrack, casino action and to any of the nine restaurant options at Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.