We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Charles Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Charles Town to your Saves list
The Inn at Charles Town
100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Good Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We received a special offer for the inn - $129.00 for one night Monday through Thursday including a $40.00 dining credit at the casino and complimentary breakfast at the hotel. Our room was comfortable with a king size bed, desk, chair and ottoman, 42 inch TV, refrigerator, and safe. I was surprised at how quiet the hotel was. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is your typical breakfast buffet and included, eggs, pancakes, bacon, cereal, breads and muffins, yogurt, juices, coffee, etc. It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    50
    23
    4
    7
See reviews for
20
85
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

great hotel. 24 hr fitness center: cardio machines (2 treadmills, 1 elliptical, 1 stationary bike) were extremely newer models. very limited weights with one bench. 2 large plasma/lcd tv's that you can watch while working out. had 1 washer and 1 dryer that worked great. customer service was awesome--they are very tech savvy and email bill and reservation confirmations. rooms were very clean. toilet flush was a little loud. shuttle to and from casino runs like every ten minutes. worked great. staff was extremely helpful. get a free breakfast buffet and newspaper. wish this hotel was a chain and there was one closer to where i live.....would go there for weekend-aways!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient to the casino and a nice clean hotel. Love the view of the racetrack. Repeat customer. They have great breakfast at the hotel and the customer service is great. Very friendly staff. The shuttle runs to the casino every 15 minutes all night long.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville, va
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I am re-rating this hotel. My first rating was only 3 stars and I'm glad that we took a chance and returned. I don't know if they have made changes to their staff but, for whatever reasons, we found the hotel much, much improved on this visit. The room was immaculate. The staff, both at the front desk and in the breakfast room, were very welcoming and efficient. We enjoyed our stay very much this time and plan to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back face the race track and the grounds are lovely. Fun to watch evening races and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Really nice staff - everyone was friendly, even the cleaning crew and breakfast staff.

We left one day early due to obligations at home, but we had a quite nice room, nice bathroom. Very comfy. Oddly quiet in a good way. Hot breakfast included. Strange pre-made eggs but everything else was better than most "free" hotel breakfasts. Everyone sleeps late, so it will be packed the last half hour!

We've stayed twice, both times facing the race track and parking lot... so - no great view for us.
If you're coming to go to the casino, the shuttle comes every few minutes and it's a 2 minute walk. There are a lot of restaurants in the casino/clubhouse, so you don't need to look very far.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown Pa.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here on a Tuesday for an overnight trip to the casino. Although we did not have reservations we asked for and were given a King room on the 1st floor. The staff at the reception desk was very friendly and quickly answered a few questions that we had. The lobby area was very nicely decorated for the season, which included a stting area, fireplace, small bar area and t.v. Our room was very clean with up to date decor. The bathroom was also very clean, nicely decorated and spacious with a very large walk in shower but no bathtub, which was fine for us. We did not have a view of the horse track because of being located on the 1st floor. Although we didnt take advantage of the complimentary breakfast, which looked very good, we did sample the coffee and juice which was excellent. From the breakfast area there are doors leading to a very large outside seating area which would be a treat, weather permitting. A hotel adjoining the casino/racetrack would be "perfect", unfortunately this one is not, which is not a big problem because of the complimentary shuttle service to and from the casino about every 15 minutes. It was very prompt with curtious drivers. We will definately stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Pick your room based on your needs/wants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is my lovely getaway spot. Love the beauty of this area with the mountains in the distance and the rolling land. Very cozy quaint area.
Hotel landscaping is outstanding. Hotel lobby presents a cozy feeling as do the rooms. Rooms are very clean and updated with views of the track or quaint views of the area. Free buffet is very fresh, clean, and good. Employees are friendly. Free shuttle is convenient.
Casino is a little too dark. Entrance looks messy with tables front and center with a cluttered feeling. Casino is loose for everyone one day and tight the next. Does not keep up with the latest machines.
Only negative for hotel might be that it could use a pop of color in hallways and rooms.
Harpers Ferry is a plus to visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Charles Town

Address: 100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Charles Town features 153 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites with fantastic views of the backstretch of the Thoroughbred Racing Track. A hot complimentary breakfast buffet is served daily for all hotel guests. A state of the art fitness room is provided along with lavish lobby bar, guest business center and guest laundry facility. Wireless internet access is available for all guest accommodations, lobby, and meeting rooms. The guest accommodations are where the pampering begins. Luxurious bedding, plush terry, granite counters and 42 flat panel televisions are featured in every room and suite. Of course, standard amenities like in room coffee, iron and ironing board and hair dryers are featured in every room. Executive and VIP Suites offer additional features such as refrigerators, pull out sofa beds, vanity make up mirrors, rich and comfortable bathrobes, and upgraded bath amenities. A complimentary shuttle service takes you to the racetrack, casino action and to any of the nine restaurant options at Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Inn at Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.