We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, quick shuttle to the casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Charles Town

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Charles Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Charles Town
100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Charles Town
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, quick shuttle to the casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Really nice staff - everyone was friendly, even the cleaning crew and breakfast staff.

We left one day early due to obligations at home, but we had a quite nice room, nice bathroom. Very comfy. Oddly quiet in a good way. Hot breakfast included. Strange pre-made eggs but everything else was better than most "free" hotel breakfasts. Everyone sleeps late, so it will be packed the last half hour!

We've stayed twice, both times facing the race track and parking lot... so - no great view for us.
If you're coming to go to the casino, the shuttle comes every few minutes and it's a 2 minute walk. There are a lot of restaurants in the casino/clubhouse, so you don't need to look very far.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    47
    21
    4
    7
See reviews for
18
81
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewistown Pa.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here on a Tuesday for an overnight trip to the casino. Although we did not have reservations we asked for and were given a King room on the 1st floor. The staff at the reception desk was very friendly and quickly answered a few questions that we had. The lobby area was very nicely decorated for the season, which included a stting area, fireplace, small bar area and t.v. Our room was very clean with up to date decor. The bathroom was also very clean, nicely decorated and spacious with a very large walk in shower but no bathtub, which was fine for us. We did not have a view of the horse track because of being located on the 1st floor. Although we didnt take advantage of the complimentary breakfast, which looked very good, we did sample the coffee and juice which was excellent. From the breakfast area there are doors leading to a very large outside seating area which would be a treat, weather permitting. A hotel adjoining the casino/racetrack would be "perfect", unfortunately this one is not, which is not a big problem because of the complimentary shuttle service to and from the casino about every 15 minutes. It was very prompt with curtious drivers. We will definately stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Pick your room based on your needs/wants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is my lovely getaway spot. Love the beauty of this area with the mountains in the distance and the rolling land. Very cozy quaint area.
Hotel landscaping is outstanding. Hotel lobby presents a cozy feeling as do the rooms. Rooms are very clean and updated with views of the track or quaint views of the area. Free buffet is very fresh, clean, and good. Employees are friendly. Free shuttle is convenient.
Casino is a little too dark. Entrance looks messy with tables front and center with a cluttered feeling. Casino is loose for everyone one day and tight the next. Does not keep up with the latest machines.
Only negative for hotel might be that it could use a pop of color in hallways and rooms.
Harpers Ferry is a plus to visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel was clean, spacious and pleasantly decorated. The staff was friendly and accomodating. They upgraded us to a suite and lent us a bottle opener. The horse racing was really fun, we could watch (though not bet) from our room at the Inn. I liked the Casino okay, the free soda was nice, but it was a bit smoky, even in the non-smoking areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel was great and very clean. Nice size room. One of the best free morning breakfasts I have ever been offered. Very close to casino. Would definately recommend. Not necessarily the casino (machines very tight) but yes to the hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke,VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel meet all my expectations and I was very pleased. It is within walking distance to the casino but strongly discourage anyone wanting to walk as there is no sidewalk. The free shuttle is more than accommodating for all your casino needs and it runs every 10-15 mins 24 hours/day. The beds are also a dream come true they are extra soft and so comfortable. Chances are I would stay here again BUT hopefully at a much lower rate. I've stayed at very similar properties and only paid $99-$109 a night. Also someone please tell Yvonne that works at the front desk to lighten up and not take things so serious.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Delaware
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Writer and spouse visited Harpers Ferry and decided to stay at the Inn. It was a convenient location to attend both the casino and the park. We found the hotel to be a positive experience,
though somewhat pricey, but would recommend if discounts were available!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Charles Town

Address: 100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Charles Town features 153 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites with fantastic views of the backstretch of the Thoroughbred Racing Track. A hot complimentary breakfast buffet is served daily for all hotel guests. A state of the art fitness room is provided along with lavish lobby bar, guest business center and guest laundry facility. Wireless internet access is available for all guest accommodations, lobby, and meeting rooms. The guest accommodations are where the pampering begins. Luxurious bedding, plush terry, granite counters and 42 flat panel televisions are featured in every room and suite. Of course, standard amenities like in room coffee, iron and ironing board and hair dryers are featured in every room. Executive and VIP Suites offer additional features such as refrigerators, pull out sofa beds, vanity make up mirrors, rich and comfortable bathrobes, and upgraded bath amenities. A complimentary shuttle service takes you to the racetrack, casino action and to any of the nine restaurant options at Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.