We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Great Breakfast, Clean Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Charles Town

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Charles Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Charles Town
100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Charles Town
Roanoke,VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Great Breakfast, Clean Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel meet all my expectations and I was very pleased. It is within walking distance to the casino but strongly discourage anyone wanting to walk as there is no sidewalk. The free shuttle is more than accommodating for all your casino needs and it runs every 10-15 mins 24 hours/day. The beds are also a dream come true they are extra soft and so comfortable. Chances are I would stay here again BUT hopefully at a much lower rate. I've stayed at very similar properties and only paid $99-$109 a night. Also someone please tell Yvonne that works at the front desk to lighten up and not take things so serious.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    47
    21
    4
    7
See reviews for
18
81
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Delaware
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Writer and spouse visited Harpers Ferry and decided to stay at the Inn. It was a convenient location to attend both the casino and the park. We found the hotel to be a positive experience,
though somewhat pricey, but would recommend if discounts were available!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Went up for a birthday trip- had stayed in a standard room previously, was in a suite this time and it was AMAZING! Only thing lacking inside the room itself was a microwave, but loved the walk-in shower, jacuzzi tub, Keurig coffee machine...and two, yes TWO bathrooms! Will have to go back when the weather is cooler- the stink bugs were terrible and therefore our wonderful balconies went unused :( Great view of the race track..once again would have been even better if we could sit on the balconies, but overrun with stink bugs. Highly recommend the suites- just go in the winter...

Room Tip: Request a trackside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Inn at Charles Town is a creditable hotel adjacent to a horse racing track and gaming casino. The hotel is not affiliated with major chains. My room was larger than most I stay in, with a king size bed, large desk, comfy chair and foot stool and a small refrigerator (but not a microwave oven). A single cup coffeemaker is stationed in the bathroom with enough coffee to brew four cups of coffee. Unfortunately there is not enough sugar or creamer for more than two cups. A large walk-in shower takes the place of a bathtub. Toiletries were nice but not remarkable. A 40 inch flat screen TV is mounted on the wall facing the bed. The bed was extra comfy and well appointe d with linens and comforter. Wireless internet access is free and worked well. A continental breakfast is provided to all guests without cost. Housekeeping was most polite and efficient. My room had a pleasant view of the track. One could observe horses going through their morning workouts. In the evening you could see races, but not like one could as a visitor at the track. The workout room has basic cardio gear. The property was better than expected.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Spring, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a 1 day trip for our 26 wedding anniversary and it was excellent. The place is very clean, staff is nice, secure building and our room had a great view of the racetrack! The breakfast buffet is very good and just an overall quality stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room that you can see the racetrack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the INN this time better than the first, three years ago. The hotel and our room with two queen size beds was very clean . The staff at the desk was courteous and went that extra mile to be helpful. The hotel provided a breakfast buffett every morning from 6:30am until 10:00am, we arrived each day at 9:30am no crowds the buffett was good and plentiful. We liked the shuttle bus from the hotel to the casino every 15 minutes, verrry conventient. NO LUCK AT THE CASINO

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just spent a short but very relaxing time at the Inn at Charles Town, WV. It is beautiful, very clean, the staff is so nice, and the rooms are excellent! We were on the 4th floor and could see the track and casino from our room. Breakfast was delicious. We met some of our friends who are from Wisconsin. We highly recommend this hotel. And, the price was surprisingly low for such a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Charles Town

Address: 100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Charles Town features 153 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites with fantastic views of the backstretch of the Thoroughbred Racing Track. A hot complimentary breakfast buffet is served daily for all hotel guests. A state of the art fitness room is provided along with lavish lobby bar, guest business center and guest laundry facility. Wireless internet access is available for all guest accommodations, lobby, and meeting rooms. The guest accommodations are where the pampering begins. Luxurious bedding, plush terry, granite counters and 42 flat panel televisions are featured in every room and suite. Of course, standard amenities like in room coffee, iron and ironing board and hair dryers are featured in every room. Executive and VIP Suites offer additional features such as refrigerators, pull out sofa beds, vanity make up mirrors, rich and comfortable bathrobes, and upgraded bath amenities. A complimentary shuttle service takes you to the racetrack, casino action and to any of the nine restaurant options at Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.