We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed bugs, this hotel has bed bugs, they do not want u to know this,” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Charles Town

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Charles Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Inn at Charles Town
100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Charles Town
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“bed bugs, this hotel has bed bugs, they do not want u to know this,”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

the rooms are dirty and are not vacuumed everyday, I saw bed bugs when i inspected my mattress. dust is every where. behind dressers, bed, end stands, and the carpets. How can you not see this? geez! give the employees time to clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    45
    20
    4
    7
See reviews for
15
78
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This was our first stay at the Inn at Charles Town. We got a special promo rate by having a Club Hollywood card from the casino. Our check-in was quick and efficient at 3:45 PM. We also received a free food voucher for $40 which we used at the Epic Buffet. Their food is excellent. Our room was a deluxe king and was very comfy. We enjoyed the free shuttle bus service to the casino and racetrack. The distance was definitely walkable, however, the temperature was just too darn hot . . .100 degrees!!! That bus realy came in handy. Breakfast was your average comp breakfast, but it was tasty and plentiful. We did not have a problem finding a seat at breakfast around 8:30 AM. There were also plenty of tables outside on the patio, but again it was a little too warm for outside dining! We definitely will stay here again on another trip to the races.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel is fairly new and the rooms are nice. There is a shuttle to the casino, but you can walk also, if you want to. There's not much in the hotel, no pool, and the bar doesn't stay open late. Not too big of a deal since the casino is open 24 hours. Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The room was nice and the location is quite convenient.

The service is at best not dependable. I arrived at 4PM after a long day of bike riding. The room was not ready even though their stated checkin time is 4PM. They left me in the waiting area until I finally had enough and complained. They then found a room and we began the check in process. The price they first charged was more then double the quoted rate. I showed them a copy of my reservation and the price was immediately reduced. The following day, I went out for another bike ride and returned in the late afternoon to a room which had not been cleaned. I found the maid and she promplty said that she was not responsible for my room but she graciuosly offered me clean towels. The following day, I went out for a long bike ride again and once again returned to a room which had not been cleaned. This time I complained at the front desk and they sent someone up top clean the room.

Overall, The INN at Charles Town is a hotel that is not focused on being a hotel. I felt that I was dealing with "The Gang That Could Not Shoot Straight".

Room Tip: Bring a copy of your reservation in order to ensure proper pricing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The staff is warm and inviting here. The room was very well kept, clean and offered a nice view of the track. The bed was hard as a rock, the pillows were flat. They really need to expand the size of the breakfast room as people were finding it hard to find a table. Breakfast was your average comp breakfast with 3 hot items (on this day it was eggs/potatoes/sausage) and lots of continental fare. I probably would save a few bucks next time and stay at the Holiday Inn Express, which was a little further from the track but still offfered the free shuttle to the casino.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the track on race days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville, va
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This motel is fairly new and, as a customer who stays fairly often, I can't understand why they are allowing the place to become so run-down so quickly.

First though, if you have never been to Charles Town, the casino is large and has thousands of machines and a good variety of games. The only problem we have with the casino is that cigarette smoking is permitted in WV and the casino smells of strong, stale smoke. If you smoke, this won't bother you but, if not, you may find the odor offensive.

The food at the casino is okay... The best is the Final Cut Steak House. Food there is excellent but very pricey. The remainder of the food outlets are more affordable but pretty mediocre. The buffet seems pricey for what they offer and the freshness is sometimes questionable. There are 3 or 4 small counters in the food court where you can get a burger, pizza or Chinese food. There is also a sports bar restaurant upstairs but the food is nothing to write home about. (We usually skip the Charles Town fare and drive over to Anthony's in Ranson instead which is only a 5 minute drive. Their pizza is awesome.)

Unlike other casinos, the hotel is not attached to the casino and is not within acceptable walking distance but they do have a convenient shuttle that runs every 15 minutes, around the clock.

Most of the motel desk staff are friendly and welcoming but there are one or 2 who are perhaps a bit snooty. The rooms are of decent size and the beds are very comfy (but I read another reviewer's comments about bedbugs and this is scary!). The rooms are not well cleaned. The carpets always look like they need to be shampooed and the bathroom floors are dirty in the corners and the grout is dirty. The walls have smudges and the mirrors are streaky. The rooms are nicely appointed but they look as if they just need a good cleaning.

All of the rooms that we have stayed in have showers (no tubs). The rooms are very quiet.

They offer breakfast downstairs that is pretty standard... "omelets" (which are circles of scrambled egg, folded in half, with cheddar cheese or without. There is usually bacon or sausage and homefries or biscuits and sausage gravy or pancakes or waffles. There are always a variety of breads and sweet rolls, coffee, tea, juice, fresh fruit, cereal and yogurt. This is all self serve but we are sometimes at the mercy of the attendant (who at times is not very attentive) ... meaning that sometimes the tables are all occupied or dirty and the attendant doesn't seem to notice.

If you register for a players card and if you play a little, they will mail offers to you for either a free room or a discounted price. We will probably go back, since it's free, but we will check for bedbugs now that we have seen a complaint about them from another reviewer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side face the racetrack and they all have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Good lodging at a fair price. Room was quiet and relatively clean, and liked the free shuttle to the horse races and the casino. Service was quick and friendly. Breakfast was so-so, but about what you would expect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Charles Town

Also Known As:
The Inn At Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
The Inn At Charles Town Hotel
Hotel Charles Town
Address: 100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Charles Town features 153 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites with fantastic views of the backstretch of the Thoroughbred Racing Track. A hot complimentary breakfast buffet is served daily for all hotel guests. A state of the art fitness room is provided along with lavish lobby bar, guest business center and guest laundry facility. Wireless internet access is available for all guest accommodations, lobby, and meeting rooms. The guest accommodations are where the pampering begins. Luxurious bedding, plush terry, granite counters and 42 flat panel televisions are featured in every room and suite. Of course, standard amenities like in room coffee, iron and ironing board and hair dryers are featured in every room. Executive and VIP Suites offer additional features such as refrigerators, pull out sofa beds, vanity make up mirrors, rich and comfortable bathrobes, and upgraded bath amenities. A complimentary shuttle service takes you to the racetrack, casino action and to any of the nine restaurant options at Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.