We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn at Charles Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Charles Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Inn at Charles Town to your Saves list
The Inn at Charles Town
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Hollywood Drive, Hollywood Casino, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Inn at Charles Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This hotel was very nice. The rooms are clean and neat. There is a good free breakfast and a patio you can sit outside and eat if you like. They have a shuttle to take you back and forth to Charles Town Casino. The rates might be a few dollars more than the other hotel in the area but its definately worth it. I wouldnt stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you request an upper room in the back, you can watch the horse training in the mornings or the ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    60
    30
    4
    7
See reviews for
25
97
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was a fantastic way to spend an evening! I booked late so the only room available was a suite which ran almost $500.00 once tax was included. The suite had a large balcony off the bedroom overlooking the race track and one other large window facing the track from the living room. The suite was large and well appointed and there was also a huge bathroom. The suite also had a fantastic coffee maker with small individual coffees. The suite was definitely worth the money. Ideally, they should have installed another common area bathroom for any guests you might invite over to watch the races from your suite, but that is the only suggestion for improvement I would add.
The hotel has a shuttle which runs 24 hours a day to the casino and race track. It's a sweet set up! They also have a "free" breakfast buffet in the mornings. We opted out on the breakfast but it did look nice. We made the decision to try the diner across the street. The diner is amazing!!! We enjoyed it alot! I say YES to The Inn at CharlesTown!!!!

Room Tip: The buffet at the casino is awesome and the diner across the street awesome as well! The smoke in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
90 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This was my second visit to this Hotel and found everything to be very accomodating. During the week, they run a $109 per night rate (as long as there are rooms available) which includes breakfast. Bathrooms are larger with full walk in showers and upscale toiletries. The room was neat and clean throughout.

Rooms to the back of the hotel overlook the horse track which can be fun during race nights or you can simply hop on the FREE shuttle over to the casino and race course (travels every 10-15 minutes on a loop). Several choices for dinner or just drinks in the casino or they do have a lobby bar open on occassion in the afternoon @ the hotel.

There was some slight noise from adjoining rooms but nothing disturbing. Not uncommon in many hotels.

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Rooms located in the back of the hotel overlook the horse track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
550 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 913 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have stayed here about 4 times, with the last visit just last week.

Hotel is clean and appears to have been recently updated. Staff at front desk is friendly. They have a small gift shop...soda, newspapers, postcards, candy, etc. Two computers are in the lobby for usage(free). Small exercize room. Washer/dryer for guests(pay). Elevators are SLOW. Rooms have always been clean, bathroom shower is large.(no tub) They now have a fridge and there is a safe in the closet. Room was rather warm on this last visit and dry.

There is a nice bar/lounge in the lobby with a 2-sided fireplace and couches/chairs. TV's are on and they are too loud for our liking. Bartender is just so-so. Not too friendly. They have a comp. breakfast buffet each morning for registered guest from 6:30am -10AM. The food is greasy, mostly microwaved and fattening. There are a couple juices to choose from. Coffee/tea/water. Some fruit...apples, oranges & some granola cereal. Toast, muffins you can make. Tables to eat at or you can go sit in the lobby area at one of the tables(nicer). MANY guests pulling up in their motorized scooters. It appears those guests really enjoy this buffet as well as food in general. Buffet is not for us.

The Hollywood Casino has a free shuttle that hits all the locals hotels, including this one. It's a great way to go back and forth. Drivers are nice...shuttle is clean.

This time our hotel room overlooked the horse track. Even though it was not race season/time, there were many horses with the jockeys running them. It was beautiful to see...I could have watched it all day. I do not endorse horse racing or dog racing, but the animals were just lovely. I hope they are taken care of.

All in all, we had en enjoyable stay. I can recommend this hotel to you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the track. We prefer those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Nicely appointed decor in rooms. Great, large walk in shower in big bathroom. The room is spotlessly clean. My room, 344, on the back side of the Inn was very quiet. Room looks out onto horse race track, although there were no races on the night I stayed. This could be a big plus or minus depending on your wants. Definitely inqure if you want quiet and darkness.

Shuttle runs to casino. Casino is also nice, and much of it recently renovated and enlarged.
A fun night if you need a break from historical visits in the area.

Prices can be steep on weekends and racng nights so check specials. I consider a senior rate of $98, including breakfast, a steal in this part of the country.

Room Tip: Check for room location vis a vis race track. I have a feeling the very bright lights could be bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I stayed at The Inn at Charles Town December 2nd as a last minute solo birthday getaway. I haven't been to the area since I was a small child and had never been to a casino before, so this was a completely new experience for me. I will review the Casino seperately though.

I checked-in close to midnight and the staff was nice but didn't give me any information except "here's your key and the elevator is that way".... nothing about breakfast or even the casino shuttle. I pretty much knew the basics from my research but I thought it would've been nice for someone to tell guests about breakfast times, the shuttle, etc.

When I booked the room I asked for a track-side room on the top floor available, and that's exactly what I got... the view of the track, even from the third floor, was great. The room itself was a good size (on the large side), very clean, well-furnished and the bed was comfortable. I didn't feel like I was in a cheap budget hotel but I don't feel like the room rates are really justifiable either (I paid $139 a night). I feel like the weekend rate at $189 is just ridiculous. The rate would go down easier if it included some free casino play. I will at least check out some other rooms in the area before I pay those rates again.

After playing till 4:30am I managed to miss breakfast by showing up just before 10:00am--- I knew I would be cutting it close but I was assuming breakfast would be served till 10:30am. Again, it would've been nice to have someone tell you these things when you check-in.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again--- but I will at least shop around to make sure there isn't comparable rooms available for a better rate.

(I noticed a Hampton Inn almost ready to open that may be another option in the near future.)

Room Tip: I really liked the view of the horse track!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

The Inn at Charles Town is a great hotel. I stay here most times when I am at out WVa offices. Plenty of rearruants to choose from and convenient to Washingtin Dulles airport and other Dc area airports. Friendly and professional staff. Always a AAA+ in my book and I am particular.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
4.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Conference Center
Quality Hotel Conference Center
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
8.1 mi away
Knights Inn Knoxville
Knights Inn Knoxville
#1 of 1 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Charles Town

Address: 100 Hollywood Drive, Hollywood Casino, Charles Town, WV 25414
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Charles Town 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Charles Town features 153 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites with fantastic views of the backstretch of the Thoroughbred Racing Track. A hot complimentary breakfast buffet is served daily for all hotel guests. A state of the art fitness room is provided along with lavish lobby bar, guest business center and guest laundry facility. Wireless internet access is available for all guest accommodations, lobby, and meeting rooms. The guest accommodations are where the pampering begins. Luxurious bedding, plush terry, granite counters and 42 flat panel televisions are featured in every room and suite. Of course, standard amenities like in room coffee, iron and ironing board and hair dryers are featured in every room. Executive and VIP Suites offer additional features such as refrigerators, pull out sofa beds, vanity make up mirrors, rich and comfortable bathrobes, and upgraded bath amenities. A complimentary shuttle service takes you to the racetrack, casino action and to any of the nine restaurant options at Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.