We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Charles Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn at Charles Town to your Saves list
The Inn at Charles Town
100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on a Sunday night. The hotel is elegant, the room was large and clean with a microwave and refrigerator, and we had a view of the horse track. The breakfast had a lot to choose from including eggs and was fully stocked. I had two issues - one was the pillows which were way too soft and provided no support and the other was the shuttle. The hotel is not far from the casino but there is no easy walking route so you have to drive your car or take the shuttle. What they don't tell you is that it's not an exclusive shuttle so there can be multiple stops and it can take a while to get there. It would be much faster to drive, but then you don't get door-to-door service. The drivers were very nice and the shuttle was clean, I just wasn't expecting the extra stops. If you want to save money, you can stay at a less expensive hotel and ride the same shuttle. Of course, none look as nice or elegant as the Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the horse track side if you'll be there when the horses are running.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    51
    25
    4
    7
See reviews for
21
90
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Nice rooms, beds were comfy. They serve full breakfast in the morning. Definely will go back again. Not far from casino and they have a shuttle that comes every 10 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll County, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The rooms are large, comfortable and very clean. One side faces the track, which I prefer. The staff is very polite and helpful. A courtesy shuttle runs about every 15 minutes from the front door of the hotel to the front door of the casino, which is very convenient! Breakfast is included, but be sure to get there early for the best choices! it's a little pricey on a Saturday night, but worth the convenience and comfort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

After returning Mike Tysons tiger to him we decided to rest our heads at the Inn at Charles Town. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, we were a rowdy group of guys in town for a Bachelor party that was epic! The staff helped us in every way imaginable whether we needed extra towels, or we were looking for a nice gentleman's club, the had an anawer(I would personally like to thank Shawn the bartender for recommending vixens, it was a spot on recommendation). Overall the Inn gets a 9 out 10 in my book and I would go back every weekend if I lived closer but 3 hours is a pretty long drive for a weekend!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night during a trip to Charles Town for a bit of gambling and relaxation. The rooms were clean and modern and the bed was very comfortable. The view of the racetrack was a nice feature as we got to watch the races and the horses' excercises in the morning. Breakfast was better than your average free/included breakfast and had a lot of choices- yogurt, cereal, pastries, bagels, omelettes, pancakes, etc. The hotel offers a 24 hour shuttle to/from the casino which runs every 15 minutes (I think more often during regular hours) which is very convenient. You cannot walk from the casino to the Inn- you have to take the shuttle or drive so the shuttle is a great, safe way to come back to the hotel if you will be out late.
We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room which faces the track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, va
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were able to stay here with a coupon - 2 free buffets, 2 breakfasts & room for 1 night for $109 + tax. It was great. Buffet was superb (crab Legs). Breakfast far surpassed the norm & the room was luxurious. Even has a shuttle that runs every 10 min. to the casino. You couldn't beat it. Would definately recommend the package, if they ever offer it again. But even without the special Hotel & breakfast would be worth the stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel was a pretty nice newer hotel. Our room had a view of the horse track which was lovely. The front desk staff was just okay. We had an issue ordering a movie and called the front desk. We were supposed to get a call back when the issue was resolved after 90 minutes we called back and the issue hadn't even been addressed. That was frustrating. Also, the ice machine on our floor broke on our second day there.
Otherwise, I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others, I was expecting a lot less considering where it was located but was pleasently surprised.
Loved the fact that they had shuttle service to the casino.

Room Tip: Get a room that has a view of the race track
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Charles Town

Address: 100 Hollywood Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Charles Town features 153 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites with fantastic views of the backstretch of the Thoroughbred Racing Track. A hot complimentary breakfast buffet is served daily for all hotel guests. A state of the art fitness room is provided along with lavish lobby bar, guest business center and guest laundry facility. Wireless internet access is available for all guest accommodations, lobby, and meeting rooms. The guest accommodations are where the pampering begins. Luxurious bedding, plush terry, granite counters and 42 flat panel televisions are featured in every room and suite. Of course, standard amenities like in room coffee, iron and ironing board and hair dryers are featured in every room. Executive and VIP Suites offer additional features such as refrigerators, pull out sofa beds, vanity make up mirrors, rich and comfortable bathrobes, and upgraded bath amenities. A complimentary shuttle service takes you to the racetrack, casino action and to any of the nine restaurant options at Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.