We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting-never stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Charles Town

Knights Inn Charles Town
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Charles Town to your Saves list
Knights Inn Charles Town
642 E Washington, off US Highway 340, Charles Town, WV 25414 (Formerly Towne House Motor Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disgusting-never stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed here before and it wasn't too bad, bad enough but my friend and I got here later and we were tired. To make a long story short, the whole motel/motor lodge was horrible. Drunk people all over. The sign in the lobby said no refunds so we were stuck. The room smelled bad but we thought it was due to ""cleaning products""? Well it was mold. I have allergies. I slept with a sheet over my head so I was able to breath a little plus I took a pill to help me sleep. The bathroom tub water didn't drain. There was black mold all over the tub and shower walls. Couldn't walk shoeless or you would stick to the horrible carpet. Two teeny bars of soap, no shampoo, no hair dryer. The lights were so dim and the moths were beautiful!!!! The beds had ???clean sheets but it doesn't appear that the blanket or spread were changed in 20 years. Holes all over them. I went to the desk to ask for a map of the area and there were no maps or info of anything close by, not even Harpers Ferry. The Casino is across the street and there was no information on it and most of the ''stuff'' was about 1/2 hr. to 45 min. drive. I was told that this place had been there 40 years but it has seen better days. The place need major work, major ....this place needs to be torn down and rebuilt. I am also going to report my health concerns to the Dept. of Health in WVA. I've been home doing my wash and trying to breath right. My bags are outside till I can get bug spray. The value was ok but for what we got it should have been 20.00, from check in to check out we were there 18 hr. Spent 8 at the casino, 2 eating.

Room Tip: Never ever, ever, ever stay here as it is. 6/12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Great Room for $50.00 bucks very close to casino, clean beds tv work ,shower had very hot water and clean. McDonalds next door if you want a snack. I would stay here again and will recoment to all my friends going to casino or race track. After checking prices at other motels it would be hard to beat this one.4/11/2012

Room Tip: Great room , very clean,good price , Hard to beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We have stayed here several times because of the convenience from the casino and low rates however this past time I came home and broke out in bed bug bites!!! I've tried calling several times to report this to the manager and they conveniently never answer their phone. Just lost some regular customers. Will NEVER stay again!!!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

For an extra 20 bucks, you can stay at the Q Inn up the road a ways! This place was the pits, The place was not clean, the sinks are rusted, and the shower/bath tub is a mess. The only thing keeping this place alive is the casino across the street and folks who don't know better!

Room Tip: For an extra 20 bucks, you can stay at the Q Inn up the road a ways!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Hello to all

I stayed there 2 nights. The don't use a credit card machine to swipe your card you have to write it down. I saw a charge for tunevouchers.com on my statement. I contacted them to warn them . I was advised there was no manager on duty . When I told the lady of the issue and that I needed to know how to contact the manager. She said didnt know when they would be in. When I challenged on her that she said theyd be in tomorrow but she didnt know what time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The carpet is damp and stinks. The bathroom floor, wall, tub, glass tub doors and tub/shower caulking is moldy and stained. Look behind the bathroom door.. ugh. The sheets may be changed but the bedspreads are not... and they are funky and stained. The filter on the ac/heater has never been clened and is spewing out germs, dust and mold. Because it is one of very few accomodations near Charles Town Racino in Charles Town,WV they charge horrible rates... over $125 on weekends! Avoid this scummy nasty place or stay at your own (health) risk.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, va
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Have being staying here for over 5 yrs. on a very frequent basis. There is nothing wrong with this motel. Yes, it is a little outdated, but clean, safe and pleasant. The rooms in the row alongside the office seem to be a bit nicer. We have NEVER had a problem of any kind. In our 15 stays, it has been nothing but pleasant. It's upsetting to hear negative comments about this place, when we are so fond of it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
4.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Conference Center
Quality Hotel Conference Center
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
8.5 mi away
Knights Inn Knoxville
Knights Inn Knoxville
#1 of 1 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
8.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Charles Town

Address: 642 E Washington, off US Highway 340, Charles Town, WV 25414 (Formerly Towne House Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Knights Inn Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towne House Motor Hotel Charles Town
Towne Hotel Charles Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.