We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll want to dodge Bear Creek Lodge!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Creek Lodge
Save
You added Bear Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Route 66, Cass, WV 24927   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You'll want to dodge Bear Creek Lodge!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

After working in hotels for over 25 years I can safely say DO NOT STAY HERE! This is NO WHERE NEAR being a lodge! The name is false advertising. Upon pulling up we noticed that there was trash all around the building and the grass was close to 2 feet tall in the back. The side entrance of the building is the "local hot spot" to hang for the area youth. As you make your way inside the you will find that the check in counter is also the "Road Kill Grill" loacated on the first floor. No seriously folks - you check in at the same greasy dirty counter you place a food order! At this point you will find the staff strive to do thier part in giving truth to the term "mountain people"! When you make your way upstairs to you room you're hopefull till you get in the room. At first glance it doesn't look so bad until further investigation. The bath tub was covered in soap scum. Stray hairs on the toilet - gross! We also had the same problem another reviewer had with the bed linens. One bed was complete with used old sheets and more hairs but we were lucky that option 2 (the second bed) had been changed. You will be attacked by stink bugs all night as there were many of them in our room. Our door to the "community deck" on the back of the building had a rotted out frame so we got a little extra for our money....an "open air view" to the outside! Also our deck porch light was busted off the wall and hanging..so it didn't work. Speaking of wires...THERE IS NO CELL SERVICE IN THE AREA due to a local satelite. The county is a dead zone. Also you will find there are NO PHONES in the rooms and the community phone located in the hall way has been ripped from the wall..just the wires left! You'll also note there are phone wires haning from the wall in your room where there should be a phone jack! The best part was the 2 inch gap between bedroom wall and the ceiling from where the building has settled. All I can say is that this is a newer building in deplorable condition. This place was basically built and has had no upkeep in the past 10-15 yrs. All I can say is if your brave enough to stay here...bring your own cleaning supplies so you don't have to go the Dollar General and buy some like we did (BTW ...its the only store within an hours drive!) If you are looking for something with ambiance comparable to the movie "Delieverance" then look no further! You have found your place! PS Let me know if you give one of thier "Famous Rt 66 Cheesesteaks a try..

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank HistoryandHeirlooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Rittman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you're looking for the Ritz Carlton, this isn't it. This is a home-spun country motel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hospitality is exceptional. There are some minor maintenance issues, but nothing too terrible. We spent a week with these fine folks and loved every minute. This is a no cell area, but they do have Wi-Fi in the building. There is a coffee maker, but there is no fridge, microwave or telephone in the room. We didn't miss those amenities at all. We're planning on going back in the spring. Thanks for a great week!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Dishonest Owner
Their web page says $49 a night and and when you check in they charge you $69 night. The owner is quite a scam artist. The women working there say they tell the owner to change the rates on his web page but he doesn't do it. Satellite remote buttons are worn out.
Also there's 2' tall weeds growing in front of the lodge. I won t stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GTI-VR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stopped by here to spend a nice night in a country town before heading on home. The scenery in the area was great a old railroad station that took you back to the early 1900's.

However i picked a place called Bearcreek Lodge to stay the night which had small hotel rooms with two double beds and a bathroom. The satelite kept messing up and the only phone was located in the hallway which hardly worked. The linens was also very dirty like the had just remade the bed and left the room.

Now for the downstairs small restaurant and grocery stores.....which i wouldnt call it that cause it consisted of a few cans of soup and vienna sausages. The pizza we ordered was decent but could have had been alot better but thats my opinion.

The only positive was the young lady and gentleman that was very helpful to my needs and was glad to answer any questions i had. The explained alot about the railroad and surrounding area

Room Tip: Hopefully you will have a decent time as me ans enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Painoflust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cass hotels

Chambersburg, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A small hotel that has potential to be a gem with a little improved upkeep. The rooms were nice and basically clean (maybe a few cobwebs here and there.) Some maintenance & repairs were needed on the balcony doors and the steps leading up to the room tend to be slick if wet (pressure treated wood.) The price was right at about $80 per night and it was totally convenient to the Cass Scenic Railroad (across the Green Briar river) and activities on the river. The Last Run restaurant at the railroad was no-frills standard American fare but quaint. You had to drive over the mountain to Snowshoe (about 10 miles) to get to more restaurants. Overall a relaxing slow weekend for my wife & myself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krstbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It is what you should expect of a modestly priced facility in an area frequented by fishermen, skiers and others interested in the outdoors. The store, fastfood, room regestration combination probably would not have scored very high on a restaurant inspection. If your expectations are higher wait for the restaurant in the Cass Country Store (may no be correct name) within sight just across the river. All things considered it was a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Some overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently returned from our trip to Cass....luckily,we had reservations at a nearby ski condo. Since it was July, the price was quite reasonable. While waiting for the train we wandered over the bridge to buy some cold drinks at the Bear Creek Lodge. Heavens, it was FILTHY..... Broken kitchen chairs lined the porch, a dusty Christmas tree was still up in the back corner. There were a couple of the colorful locals having what appeared to be some sort of lovers spat in the parking lot. Thank the Lord my sister in law checked the reviews when she was arranging accommodations...or we would have been STUCK in that horrid place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cass
5.2 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
4.8 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
7.5 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cass Scenic Railroad State Park
5.2 mi away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#9 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
5.1 mi away
Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Lodge

Address: Route 66, Cass, WV 24927
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cass
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Hotel Cass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing