We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable week!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Creek Lodge

Bear Creek Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Creek Lodge
Save Saved
You added Bear Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Route 66, Cass, WV 24927   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Cass
Rittman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable week!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you're looking for the Ritz Carlton, this isn't it. This is a home-spun country motel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hospitality is exceptional. There are some minor maintenance issues, but nothing too terrible. We spent a week with these fine folks and loved every minute. This is a no cell area, but they do have Wi-Fi in the building. There is a coffee maker, but there is no fridge, microwave or telephone in the room. We didn't miss those amenities at all. We're planning on going back in the spring. Thanks for a great week!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irwin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Dishonest Owner
Their web page says $49 a night and and when you check in they charge you $69 night. The owner is quite a scam artist. The women working there say they tell the owner to change the rates on his web page but he doesn't do it. Satellite remote buttons are worn out.
Also there's 2' tall weeds growing in front of the lodge. I won t stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stopped by here to spend a nice night in a country town before heading on home. The scenery in the area was great a old railroad station that took you back to the early 1900's.

However i picked a place called Bearcreek Lodge to stay the night which had small hotel rooms with two double beds and a bathroom. The satelite kept messing up and the only phone was located in the hallway which hardly worked. The linens was also very dirty like the had just remade the bed and left the room.

Now for the downstairs small restaurant and grocery stores.....which i wouldnt call it that cause it consisted of a few cans of soup and vienna sausages. The pizza we ordered was decent but could have had been alot better but thats my opinion.

The only positive was the young lady and gentleman that was very helpful to my needs and was glad to answer any questions i had. The explained alot about the railroad and surrounding area

Room Tip: Hopefully you will have a decent time as me ans enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A small hotel that has potential to be a gem with a little improved upkeep. The rooms were nice and basically clean (maybe a few cobwebs here and there.) Some maintenance & repairs were needed on the balcony doors and the steps leading up to the room tend to be slick if wet (pressure treated wood.) The price was right at about $80 per night and it was totally convenient to the Cass Scenic Railroad (across the Green Briar river) and activities on the river. The Last Run restaurant at the railroad was no-frills standard American fare but quaint. You had to drive over the mountain to Snowshoe (about 10 miles) to get to more restaurants. Overall a relaxing slow weekend for my wife & myself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It is what you should expect of a modestly priced facility in an area frequented by fishermen, skiers and others interested in the outdoors. The store, fastfood, room regestration combination probably would not have scored very high on a restaurant inspection. If your expectations are higher wait for the restaurant in the Cass Country Store (may no be correct name) within sight just across the river. All things considered it was a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Some overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently returned from our trip to Cass....luckily,we had reservations at a nearby ski condo. Since it was July, the price was quite reasonable. While waiting for the train we wandered over the bridge to buy some cold drinks at the Bear Creek Lodge. Heavens, it was FILTHY..... Broken kitchen chairs lined the porch, a dusty Christmas tree was still up in the back corner. There were a couple of the colorful locals having what appeared to be some sort of lovers spat in the parking lot. Thank the Lord my sister in law checked the reviews when she was arranging accommodations...or we would have been STUCK in that horrid place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Let me start by saying, I'll probably stay here again. Just because if you're going for one day, this is the best price by far you're going to find nearby to Snowshoe.

CONS: This place was pretty creepy. No cell service, they provide one shared phone in the hallway.
I woke up at 3am to someone pounding the door down the hall for 2 minutes until i heard the latch turn and it stopped, "good thing I've got cell service to call for help...wait, nope. that's ok, there's a pho...nope, that's in the hall with the Man w the Iron Fists.

The blanket on my bed clearly wasn't cleaned before they gave us the room, indicated by several smeared crusties on the comforter. Looks like a 14 year old discovered Brazzers for the first time with their free WIFI.

Service from the future stroke victims downstairs is about as wretched as it can get. But if you've been the South, you understand that sometimes these people aren't trying to be rude, that's just their demeanor.

PROS: Free WIFI. That was a nice surprise. Also helps you stay connected since virtually no cell service works in that area.

Food downstairs from an incredible greasy spoon truck stop/"convenience" store. Along with free coffee for guests.

Price. $80-$110 a night depending on seasons, weekdays etc. No minimum stay required and no hidden fees. When you checkout you just hand them the key and you're done.

Like I said, this place is kinda gross. But if you're going to board/ski for the day and are just going to use the room for sleep and maybe bring some sheets and pillow of your own, its alright.

Room Tip: Bring some sheets of your own if you're able to. Pillows too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bear Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Lodge

Address: Route 66, Cass, WV 24927
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cass
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Cass
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Hotel Cass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.