We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Creek Lodge
Save
You added Bear Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Route 66, Cass, WV 24927   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Adequate.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It is what you should expect of a modestly priced facility in an area frequented by fishermen, skiers and others interested in the outdoors. The store, fastfood, room regestration combination probably would not have scored very high on a restaurant inspection. If your expectations are higher wait for the restaurant in the Cass Country Store (may no be correct name) within sight just across the river. All things considered it was a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Some overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    12
    7
    8
See reviews for
14
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocky River
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently returned from our trip to Cass....luckily,we had reservations at a nearby ski condo. Since it was July, the price was quite reasonable. While waiting for the train we wandered over the bridge to buy some cold drinks at the Bear Creek Lodge. Heavens, it was FILTHY..... Broken kitchen chairs lined the porch, a dusty Christmas tree was still up in the back corner. There were a couple of the colorful locals having what appeared to be some sort of lovers spat in the parking lot. Thank the Lord my sister in law checked the reviews when she was arranging accommodations...or we would have been STUCK in that horrid place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Let me start by saying, I'll probably stay here again. Just because if you're going for one day, this is the best price by far you're going to find nearby to Snowshoe.

CONS: This place was pretty creepy. No cell service, they provide one shared phone in the hallway.
I woke up at 3am to someone pounding the door down the hall for 2 minutes until i heard the latch turn and it stopped, "good thing I've got cell service to call for help...wait, nope. that's ok, there's a pho...nope, that's in the hall with the Man w the Iron Fists.

The blanket on my bed clearly wasn't cleaned before they gave us the room, indicated by several smeared crusties on the comforter. Looks like a 14 year old discovered Brazzers for the first time with their free WIFI.

Service from the future stroke victims downstairs is about as wretched as it can get. But if you've been the South, you understand that sometimes these people aren't trying to be rude, that's just their demeanor.

PROS: Free WIFI. That was a nice surprise. Also helps you stay connected since virtually no cell service works in that area.

Food downstairs from an incredible greasy spoon truck stop/"convenience" store. Along with free coffee for guests.

Price. $80-$110 a night depending on seasons, weekdays etc. No minimum stay required and no hidden fees. When you checkout you just hand them the key and you're done.

Like I said, this place is kinda gross. But if you're going to board/ski for the day and are just going to use the room for sleep and maybe bring some sheets and pillow of your own, its alright.

Room Tip: Bring some sheets of your own if you're able to. Pillows too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We usually stay at The Inn at Snowshoe, but this was a last minute trip and we ended up staying here. It wasn't that bad. Basically, if you need to get in touch with anyone you are SOL. We had no cell phone reception, which was to be expected, the "community" phone in the hallway had a clipped wire...interesting. The walls were paper thin as well as the pillows. The locals that were hanging out down in the deli area were sketchy and made us feel like we were in the movie Deliverance. We left at 8 am to get up to the mountain and the place was shut down so we weren't quite sure what to do with the key. We ended up leaving it in the room. Aside from that, it was clean, the beds were comfortable and they have TV with a lot of channels. Improvements would probably be Wifi since it would have been nice to have some way to make sure our kids back home were OK and thicker pillows. They probably can't do anything about the walls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A few weeks back I stayed at the Bear Creek Lodge in Cass, Wv. This lodge is located in the historic town of Cass located less than 10 miles from Snowshoe, WV. The staff were very accomodating and the rooms were clean and beds comfortable. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone in the search for an affordable place to staff near Snowshoe with great rooms and staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We recently spent two nights in the Bear Creek lodge in Cass WV, and we had a wonderful experience...the rooms were clean and well kept, the staff was friendly and professional, and the scenery was breathtaking...the staff at the lodge were extremely friendly and knowledgeable, and were able to recommend activities to keep us busy during our stay. One employee recommended we rent some bikes and ride the greenbrier trail...which we did and spotted two black bears, numerous deer, and several rabbits....All in all we had a great time..and can't wait to come back next year

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We came to WV for the wedding of our very close friends. We chose Bear Creek for its location (it was the closest we could find to the ceremony site) and booked months in advance. When I called I was told that the price was $20.00 more per night than the price listed on the website. The weekend would be filled with events for the wedding so I thought, “Fine, it's 15-20 minutes away. That is what matters.”
When we arrived we waited in line to check-in at a food counter where, I am not kidding, I was given a greasy pen to sign the credit card receipt.
Our room smelled slightly of smoke and one of the two dresser drawers was broken but I was too tired to take issue and we went about setting up our room for the big weekend. I still think, “Fine. It will be easy to get to and from events for the weekend. Now, I just want to unpack and be ready for the morning.”
The next morning my husband stepped into the shower only to have the handle fall off in his hand. Neither of us was dressed so he put his dirty clothing back on and went to the food counter to get the problem taken care of. Fifteen minutes later he returned with a woman who rolled her eyes but agreed to move us to a different room. Because we had almost completely unpacked for our three night stay it took several minutes to: get the new key, re-pack and move to the other room. As we were carrying over several hangers of formal attire it became immediately clear that the hanging rack in our new room was broken. My husband went back to the food counter to ask for a clothes rack or some other means by which to hang the easily wrinkled clothing we would be wearing in the next three days. They didn’t have anything and we ended up laying out our suits and dresses over one of the beds so they would be presentable.
In the meantime, we have now missed our lunch appointment with other friends attending the wedding and (due to the telescope satellite in the area) could not call them. So my husband ran out to at least catch them at the restaurant so they didn’t worry and to grab us something to eat. I showered and tried to make our new room a habitable place for the next two days and nights. My husband did not get to shower before we had to be at the rehearsal (we were both in the wedding) but we were still trying to make the best of it since this was a happy occasion.
After the rehearsal we returned to the room so that he could finally shower before we went to the rehearsal dinner. We knew we would be skipping the dance lessons in-between because he had now gone without a shower since the previous morning. In other words, he was desperate to take a shower. Well, no such luck. The Lodge had turned the water off in the all the rooms because someone was attempting to fix the shower in our first room. The man at the food/check-in counter told us it would be 30-45 minutes before the water was back on. Another employee said, “Oh, you were in Room 8?” and snickered as he walked away. So this guy KNEW previously there was a problem with our first room?!? At this point it was not “fine” anymore. It was very NOT FINE.
So we asked to speak to the manager or owner. We were told that the manager and the owner were the same person and that, “She might be in later.”
By the time the water was turned back on, we were 40 minutes late to the rehearsal dinner and, worst of all, could no longer keep from the bride and groom and other friends how awful an experience we were having.
Later that evening we asked two other “employees” two more times if the manager/owner was in and finally got a straight answer, “She travels for work and is not onsite,” but they would try to call her. It was the next evening before, upon asking again, we were offered a $25.00 refund. Perhaps that would fix the problem for someone else but we were insulted. Not only is that a single digit percentage of our total cost, there is nothing that can replace the time we lost in attending, or rather, not attending once-in-a-lifetime wedding events.
It is not often that one can accuse a hotel of practically ruining one’s experience but Bear Creek Lodge came darn close. It is unforgivable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cass
5.2 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cass Scenic Railroad State Park
7.5 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain
5.1 mi away
Serenity Now
Serenity Now
#2 of 3 in Snowshoe
5.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
4.8 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Lodge

Address: Route 66, Cass, WV 24927
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cass
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Hotel Cass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.