We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice before staying here!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Creek Lodge

Bear Creek Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Creek Lodge
Save
You added Bear Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Route 66, Cass, WV 24927   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Think twice before staying here!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were happy when we walked in, very clean. The only thing was a busted toilet paper holder. No big deal. Then we were getting ready to go ride The Cass Railroad Train, we didn't have any water. Well they must be working on it, and they were. When we came back the water was on. In the morning is when we found out the real problem. We could not get any hot water in the shower. The knob was put on wrong so we could not turn it to make the water hot. NO SHOWER! Other little things: There was a coffee maker and coffee but no sugar or creamer. Suppose to have WiFi but I kept having to go downstairs to tell them the server was down. There is no phone service so
we can't call the store/restuarant/front desk. (there is a phone in the hall but still have to get dressed to use the phone) Also, there was only a couple of employees that were friendly and went out of there way to help us. The amosphere was just not very friendly even in the check-in(there was confusion) or check-out.(there was no empathy) When we told them about the cold shower it was "On My" but no "Sorry" for along time. We thought they might give us breakfast or something but no. This place is not worth the 89.99 we paid even though it is across the street from The Cass Scenic Railroad. Think twice before staying here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Overall we were very pleased.
They have amazing food in the store downstairs. Highly recommend the biscuits and gravy! The room was great, clean, and the bathroom was very clean. One downside was the ceiling, its cracking in places but not a big deal. This is a great place at a great price. You can walk to the Cass station from there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just recently (Aug.. 5 & 6 )stayed at the Bear Creek Lodge in Cass, W VA. My husband, myself, and our teenage son all thought our room was very nice and I totally loved the decor, our room was very clean, and plenty of towels , cups, coffee, bathroom needs, and a microwave were all furnished, we had NO complaints at all. The people who work at the restaraunt were the nicest people and always said hello with a smile on their face, anything we needed was no problem for them to do , I have no idea why certain people had a problem with the rooms or people maybe their not use to friendly country people, and are use to high class motels, if you want a high class motel with door-men , elevators, parking attendents, etc. then go there but if you want friendly country people in a small country town, with down home cooking (that is soooo good),and a comfortable place to sleep that you can afford, walking distance to Cass Railroad, nice country stores, then this is the place for you. We never had any problem with anyone who was around or in the store or motel , all that was said to us was hello or have a nice day, or see ya later drive careful.... Give this place a try we did and had NO PROBLEMS !!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hico
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I've lodged here on numerous occasions. Most who choose to stay do so because they are on a budget, or they are just cheap all the way around. So for those of you who want to knock this facility maybe you should spend a little more money and go somewhere else. There are a few things that could be improved as anywhere most of us go. But when it comes to affordability of the lodge and the food at the restaurant it can't be beat anywhere in that area. The owner Ms. Minghini has went out of her way to accommodate myself and my children when we have been there. We even bring our staff there on occasions to ride the train and lodge with bear creek. We are always given the best rates when we do. As for the employees for the most part they are just good ol country folk. If your scared of them go back to the city. It takes all kinds to make the world go round. Let's see we used to call people that whinned like some on these posts pickers in the 80's. Thank you bear creek for giving us a place to lay our heads and food in our tummy at an affordable rate. This left me more money once again to do other things I wanted to do in the area.

Room Tip: I like the rooms closest to the ends but not very end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent mountain, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is not a Cracker Barrell. It is a local convenience store with a snack bar and a few rooms available to rent. If you have time, the food here is very, very good. Be prepared to be chatted up by locals. The staff is very nice and accomodating.

We did not stay here, but I wish we had. A very nice couple we met on the Cass Scenic railroad did stay here and they thought it was great. The staff did show us a room. The rooms overlook the Greenbriar River and the Cass Scenic railroad, The rooms do have air conditioning. The company houses at the State park are not air conditioned.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Suffolk, England
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I arrived with my Harley riding buddy on a very wet morning. We both ordred omlets from Jenny and WOW, what an omlete it was!

Come to Bear Creek Lodge for breskfast, you'll be as delighted as i was.

I didn't stay, but hope to return one day to do so.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The room was clean when we arrived,however the bed NEVER got made and we had to ask for towels every day.we watched the locals taking stuff out to their car and we told the girl at the counter and all she said was it happens every weekend!!!!The cooks tried hard and I was okay with the food....owner definitely needs to make improvementas and stop letting people just take what they want and walk out the door.needs someone to work cash register only while the cook does their thing...not both

Room Tip: if you just want closer to the mountain and dont mind a small little place to eat this is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Lodge

Address: Route 66, Cass, WV 24927
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cass
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Hotel Cass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.