We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for the hurried traveler” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Creek Lodge

Bear Creek Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Creek Lodge
Save
You added Bear Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Route 66, Cass, WV 24927   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Oxford, Michigan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“not for the hurried traveler”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

If you want to slow down, relax and get the feel of country, then Bear Creek Lodge is perfect. The people that work there are great people trying hard to accommodate everyone, the one person behind the counter was trying to check people into the lodge, cook, answer the phone and ring up people trying to buy things at the store, so patience is needed.
The rooms were clean although a little worn, and the walls a little thin, but it was comfortable. There is no cell phone service, but there was basic tv, and internet, although slow, but your not there to watch tv, check out the steam engines and the old logging town across the creek, wade in the creek, take a ride on the stagecoach, or just relax.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Strasburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Booked a room there a month and a half ahead of time for trip. when we arrived at lodge and told them we were there to check in the lady looked at us and said will get back to you have to help her cook waited and waited. then this young man came up to us and said there was a problem somehow they had double booked our room. the ladys there wanted him to tell us they were redoing the rooms but he told then that would not be honest. would not reckomend this to anyone. like i said I made reservations a month and a half ahead of time should have been garenteed a room. as they did take all my imformation over phone

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass, WV
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We are Ohio motorcycle riders looking for an inexpensive home-base to make several days-worth of riding in the mountians. The Bear Creek Lodge (BCL) web site and person I talked to on phone confirmed that the cell phone reciption was non-existant but they had WiFi. Additionally, web site said that each room had satalite TV.
We were planning an early May trip so all the Winter travelers would be out of the way. As it turned out, our two rooms were the only two (out of 8) that were booked for Thrusday and Friday.
We arrived early enough to experienct some good home-cooked pizza from the down-stairs hang-out / front-desk / bar / souvaneir shop / dinning room / cooking area.
When we went to our rooms to get a good nights rest for our first loop of our trip, that's when some things were less than top notch.
The store closes at 8 pm. When the store closes - the folk(s) that run it go home. That's when we went to our rooms and found out our TV recived all the chanels you wanted as long as you wanted to buy something or were on a diet or wanted to join a fitness program. No HBO, local or national chanels could be found and no one to call / contact to get it fixed.
That's OK because we were also promised WiFi. We thought maybe we could watch a movie or get local weather through the PC using the computer I dragged along to check emails from work. It found the WiFi, but every time I tried logging into something the WiFi was dropped. So , disconnected and no one to call to ask a question or to get fixed.
We also found out that the room did not have a phone. There were two land-line phones on the hall way for your local phone calling pleasure. We were ultimately able to use these phones to make a call back to our families using 1-800-COLLECT.
Since the cook / hotel clerk / room service person had gone home for the night, we were stuck with a room that was less than advertised.
The next morning we informed the nice clerk / cook / cleaning lady that we were less than satisfied and that we would be checking out to find other accomodations. She hopped on the phone (a portable one that seemed to be craddled up to her ear most of the time we were there) and called the boss. The boss reminded her and then me, when I wanted to discuss this with her, that the web site clearly indicated that there was a 48 hour cancelation clause and that no refuncds would be forthcomming. With a promise to fix the TV issue, we resind ourselves to staying in the rooms we paid for for the next two nights but cancelled the Sunday night we had reserved (we could because it was 48 hours ahead).

Room Tip: Don't plan on Hilton-like accomodations. And plan on living without (cell phone / computer hook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

Cleannes of the room is great. Location, however is far from the Snowshoe Resort especially when the road is covered with snow. However it has good view. This place has ski n snowboard rental, market n lodge in one. One thing that i really dont like about is that u have VERY limited channel.... mostly shopping channel n you have to pay to watch any other channels. I would only cone back here if any other inn or hotel nearby the Snowahoe is full.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory Flats WV
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed here and rode steam train to top of Bald knob, rooms were clean, cozy , and spacious. Restaurant below was a plus for dinner and breakfast. If your into outdoor adventures this place is a excellent loacation for skiing, hiking, steam train rides, fishing, canoeing, and escaping cell phones / internet... its a great place to enjoy Wild Wonderful West Virginia with comfort in a back woods setting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We are a group of 4 older women and rented 2 rooms for a night at this lodge. The staff was exceptional and friendly, even divided the bill 4 ways so we could each pay our share. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The restaurant was also clean and had very good food for dinner and breakfast. It is across the river from the Cass Scenic Railroad which was the reason for our trip. The railroad is so close you can just walk across the bridge over the Greenbriar River and enjoy the shops there. The balcony on the motel was nice to sit on in the evening and enjoy the view of the river and mountains. We would stay here again. We felt perfectly safe and noticed several couples also enjoying this motel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copley, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Great location for the Cass RR trip, that is why we stayed here. This time the room was dirty, pillows stained, blankets had hair on them, and plumbing was questionable. We had reservations and no one knew where the key for the room was. I finally found it in the room because the door was unlocked. The restaurant is good, but the morning staff had attitude. I wanted decaf coffee and she threw a packet at me, but she finally made it. When I went back for refills a customer told me she mixed regular in with the decaf. Another couple I talked to said they would never stay there again. No wifi or cell phone service because it is in a radio free area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearCreekWV, Guest Relations Manager at Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
We at 66 would like to apologize for your unhappy visit at our Cass, wv location. We have since updated, renovated, and hired responsible friendly staff to ensure a happy friendly environment. We do have wifi installed at this location now, and still since the area is so close to the Observatory, no cell service is available. We do offer a phone to make long distance calls at no charge for your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Lodge

Address: Route 66, Cass, WV 24927
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cass
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Hotel Cass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.