We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality of north bend lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Bend State Park Lodge

Save Saved
You added North Bend State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North Bend State Park Lodge
Cairo, WV   |  
Hotel amenities
Abilene, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“quality of north bend lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

the family members, & myself traveled from abilene, tx. for a family get together in harrisville.
we spent three nights at the lodge. everything was great! our room was spacious, even w/
4 people in a two
bed suite. the staff was helpful, & polite. even one of the ladies at the
front desk opened up the gift store for me early in one morning when it was'nt due to open
yet. the meals was wonderful! one time they only had two waite staff personnel w/ a almost
packed dinning hall, & they did a great job handeling it. i applaud them.
the area around the park was beautiful.
the person that wrote one of the comments did'nt know what they were talking about. they
are probably the type of people that are'nt happy unless their complaining about something.
all you have to do is look at all of the possitive comments to make up you mind to stay.
they even have a map in the hallway so you can add a pin to show were your from.
my thanks to all of the staff, & cleaning personnel. great job!

Room Tip: can't remember what room we stayed in. but it was on the first floor. first room at the top of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We just spent a Saturday night with the $99 special,includes dinner that evening of arrival and breakfast in the morning..You can order anything on the menu. Both were simply great. The beds are fine, but the bed-spreads are heavy-weight & if you need another blanket, you gotta use it. Heating A/C unit is tough to regulate..When not blowing warm air on a cold night , it blows out plain cool air, except it is indeed cool and you feel the breeze as if you have the window open. I don't like golf,or winter sports. Since I am a big fan of football,basketball,baseball, so I don't have to bump into couples with golf bags, or ski equipment here and there..I can sit by the big wood fire and watch TV Sports. Management and staff are great! Christmas holiday season is wonderful, especially when they did put up a real live tree from the park in the lobby.. and deer we have seen coming up and looking into the windows at us during a snow fall. I asked,"are they trained to do that for customer fun?" Spring, Summer and Fall are also wonderful times here. It is kinda small and personal actually, I think that is why I have always liked this WV State Park best..!

Room Tip: Ask for the type of room that you want. The special "winter"rates especially during the Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We recently spent a fall weekend at the lodge. Our room, 208, was the largest one available and was more of a studio suite with a small frig. The room was clean and comfortable, and having the frig allowed us to bring lunch supplies and snacks. I don't think many of the other rooms include a refrigerator. We had three large windows that provided a view of the trees and a bit of the valley below--just lovely. FYI: the bathroom had a hair dryer, but there was not an iron available. We had dinner at the lodge dining room, which we enjoyed. It's a good-sized glass-enclosed space that also allows you to enjoy the views. The food, while simple, was tasty and easy on the budget. We did not experience the same issues that the previous poster did. Everything was clean, and our food was fine. The service was a bit laid back, but so were we. Keep in mind that the lodge is not particularly close to any other restaurants or entertainment. You'll be driving over some twisty country roads to get anywhere. Since we were primarily there to hike and enjoy our natural surroundings, that was perfect for us. Many of the guests used the gathering room near the dining room; it has a lovely large fireplace, several tables for puzzles and games, and a television. If you like to hike, you can access most of the trails from those near the lodge--and most of them were quite nice. We particularly enjoyed the Overhanging Rock Trail and the Overlook Trail, but all offered beautiful fall scenery. For the most part they were well-marked and well-maintained. We would have liked to see a few more signs indicating trail access points, but we always managed to find them. We also walked about 2 miles west on the Rail/Trail, but found it disappointing. Perhaps the other direction would have offered better scenery. Based on this stay, we're definitely going to try some of the other lodges in WV.

Room Tip: See if 208 is available--or one of the other suite options. I'd also ask for the 2nd floor. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The rooms were clean but could be updated. The beds were pretty uncomfortable. The views from the rooms are nice and lobby area is very pretty. The restaurant has always been so-so but we had a pretty bad dinner this time - the chicken pot pie we ordered had nothing in it but a few peas and a lot of cream sauce, a sirloin ordered was not cooked long enough, and the glasses on the table for water were dirty and were the same ones that had sat out at breakfast. They were nice enough to not charge us or charge us half price for the unsatisfying meals but I would not trust eating there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We originally went to experience the nice rail trail. We covered 45 miles of bike trail in 3 days and 4 tunnels. What a surprise when we found out we could stay at the park in the North Bend Lodge and eat at the restaurant. The food was good, the service was great and yes we will go back another time for more fun. There is so much to do at this park, that we ran out of time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McConnelsville, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed using one of the package deals they offer. SO glad we did. For those who love outdoors this is the place for you. Hiking, fishing, swimming, tennis not to mention you can also visit Blennerhassett island near by.

Room Tip: Choose a package
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopersburg pa
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

What a delightful surprise to stay in this West Virginia State Park Lodge. The staff is outstanding!! The lodge room was clean, spacious and had a great view into the forest. We booked a package that included our room and the Blennerhasseet Island tour package. The $99.00 price for two people, is an unbelieveable bargin. We ate our meals in the lodge dining room. Both breakfast and dinner were delicious and well priced. We happened to be there on a Wednesday evening and had the opportunity to be treated to The Wednesday Evening Boys-a group of men that get together to play bluegrass music, just because they enjoy "pickin" together. There is nothing negative that can be said about our time at North Bend State Park Lodge-not to be missed!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Bend State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bend State Park Lodge

Address: Cairo, WV
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your North Bend State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Bend State Park Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Bend State Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.