We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort
Save
You added Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort to your Saves list
8290 North Fork Highway, Cabins, WV 26855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabins
New Lebanon, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This couldn't be a more perfect location. Excellent value for the price. Spotless. Word of warning, this is not handicapped accessible. Staff was courteous and friendly. Trout fishing immediately across the road. No restaurant but small snack bar in gift shop. A restaurant would greatly enhance this property as it is quite remote.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    52
    36
    14
    18
See reviews for
70
112
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked a night at Smoke Hole at a "Honeymoon Cabin" for our anniversary...it was wonderful! Cabin was clean, cute,and romantic. The surrounding areas were beautiful this time of year (3rd week of Oct) as the leaves were in full peak. We are already planning on going back next year. For first time visitors...wish I would've known...have to do the dishes (bring paper plates if you don't want to do dishes, although dishes and soap are provided), no restaurants are close so bring food; soap, shampoo, and bubble bath are provided (website doesn't say they are), there is a microwave, and coffee is provided. Great place!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Room was clean. The only amenity they offered was toilet paper and tissues. Had to ask for hair dryer. AC and HEAT controlled from the lobby. Seriously. Absolutely NO insulation in walls. Can hear every conversation and TV in room next door, Made for really rough sleep. Could hear every logging and cement truck all night. Notes in room " do not take blankets out of room. Maids count blankets everyday and we will charge you for the blanket. Absolutely no visitors. " Not a friendly environment. Receptionist in lobby unfriendly.
Restaurants open for dinner at least 20 minutes away. CLose at 7 pm. Most restaurants in area are closed on Mondays.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We went to Smoke Hole, WV for an anniversary weekend with the Fall scenery. The Honeymoon cabins are perfect for a couple to get away together. Very comfortable, clean and beautiful surroundings. The staff was excellent in every way to help our stay be a happy one. We watched ducks, fish and muskrats in the stream from our porch and a multitude of goldfinch flew around. We had a great time there.

Room Tip: We liked the honeymoon cabins because there's a stream out the back with a lot of wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I've passed the resort numerous times in the past on my way out to one of many backpacking trips in wilderness areas close by, but had never stopped in. My wife doesn't backpack, but I wanted to get her out into the mountains, so we stayed at Smoke Hole for two nights in one of the motel rooms. We loved it and would definitely return. It's not loaded up with amenities, but the cost of the room was very reasonable. We didn't need any more than we got and we didn't have to pay for luxuries we didn't want. No WiFi (so we weren't tempted to keep up with email), no cell service (so we couldn't be bothered), and as one of these reviews states, the rooms are a bit dated and we could easily hear conversations in adjacent rooms (but our neighbors were courteously quiet), but what mattered most to us was that the room was absolutely clean, fresh and spacious. All the essentials were there (like a full-sized coffee maker!) and the people were very friendly, both management and other guests. There was a very relaxed atmosphere that we loved. And it's so close to Dolly Sods, Seneca Rocks, Otter Creek, etc... It's a great, comfortable jumping off point for a great weekend. We will definitely return again and we recommend it highly. Oh, and there's no place to eat in the immediate vicinity, but we ate Friday night in Petersburg on the way in and at Seneca Rocks on Saturday night before a big party at the Climbing Center there. Great fun!

Room Tip: We stayed in #4 in the motel. If you get a room on either end you'll only have one neighbor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our honeymoon cabin. The staff went out of their way to ensure everything was perfect. They checked with us before arrival to see if they could do anything special. Since this request was made I had the staff arrange a special surprise for my wife upon our arrival. They were able to comply with my request and made this a perfect memorable occasion for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My family and I just spent the weekend at this resort and we stayed in one of the older satellite cabins which was two miles from the new gift shop as well as the Smoke Hole Caverns. Overall, the cabin was in good condition and generally clean; however it could have used a little more cleaning of cobwebs and the appliances will be in need of an update in the not too distant future. I had to remind my children that this was a cabin and not a Hilton Garden Inn and that a few spiders / cobwebs could be tolerated. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the owner took time to speak with us on a few occasions. The caverns were some of the best we have toured and the area is close to other attractions such as Seneca Rocks, Dolly Sods, and Blackwater Falls which are all very scenic with great places to hike and picnic. I would recommend a stay at this resort and as I understand it, they even have more modern log home accommodations if this is more to your liking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort

Address: 8290 North Fork Highway, Cabins, WV 26855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cabins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabins
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort property starts out with Smoke Hole Caverns, the brand new gift shop, the main office, and our log motel being located on the same property. As you travel 2 miles north you will see separated the Smoke Hole Log Cabin Resort area and the Smoke Hole Cottage area. Both groups of cabins our located on their private properties and offer a simply gorgeous rural retreat to the Appalachian Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smoke Hole Caverns And Log Cabin Resort
Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Hotel Seneca Rocks
Smoke Hole Family Log Hotel
Smoke Hole Family Log Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.