We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful and cozy......perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort
Save
You added Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort to your Saves list
8290 North Fork Highway, Cabins, WV 26855   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabins
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very beautiful and cozy......perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Beautiful decor in a fantastic location. Very clean with all the amenities of home. Even my husband who is the biggest critic loved this mini log cabin. I would recommend this place to anyone. A little slice of heaven in WV!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smoke_Hole_Resort, Manager at Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We agree that we have a special slice of heaven. My dad always told me, "We are on vacations 365 days a year." Hope to see you again. Don't forget we are only a half hour away from Canaan Valley and Timberline Ski Resorts and what a better way to relax than infront of a real wood burning fireplace after you have been on the slopes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    56
    36
    14
    18
See reviews for
70
115
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at the Smoke Hole Resort's Log Cabin Motel. My observations were similar to another reviewer. From the pictures the gift shop and motel look very charming but the interior of the motel room had not been updated. The room was large but the only furniture was 2 beds, a nightstand and a dresser where the TV was located. There were no additional chairs or luggage stands so suitcases had to be placed on the floor. There is no fridge, microwave, hair dryer nor iron.

The room was very dated with a huge outdoor mural on the wall. Wallpaper was discolored in several areas due to age. There was no cell service and no wifi (which I was made aware of when placing the reservations). The TV received 6 channels... no local channels to get a weather report.

But the biggest drawback was the “thinness” of the walls. There was no audible privacy. When we used our shower, it was extremely loud. When the neighbors used their shower, it was equally as loud. You could hear the neighboring TV, sneezing, coughing, etc. as if they were in your room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

When I looked at Internet site and chose to stay at the Smoke Hole Resort's Log Cabin Motel I was sure it was going to be a good choice. It wasn't a bad coice but beware of the issues.
1. On busy road so don't expect scenic view at motel
2. Very nice appearance of the gift shop and motel But rooms, while nice and clean, will ot blow you away. Tacky wallpaper. Beds are of marginal comfort.
3. You will be incummicado. No cell and no wifi in motel. Must go stand outside at gift shop to get wifi signal
4. TV dish is worthless. You get no local channels to get a weather report or news. We got HBO and 4 other obscure channels.

I want you to know the staff is so sweet and nice I feel bad writing this review But I want to read reviews that tell the truth so we travelers know what to expect. I cannot speak for their cabins.

Room Tip: Closet place to eat about two miles down road. No breakfast at motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My Husband and I spent our Honeymoon @ Smoke Hole 8 years ago so we decided to go again for our anniversary I have to say it was as magnificent this time as it was our first trip I can't say enough good things about our trip and stay at Smoke Hole Log Cabin Resort, if you enjoy the outdoors, a Beautiful Cabin and the friendliest people then you need to book your trip today!!! The Cabins are so beautiful and very comfortable not to mention very romantic with the wonderful fireplaces and the Jacuzzi :) All the staff at the resort are so friendly and always willing to go out of their way to please you and make your stay with them all the better. Their new store is beautiful and full of treasures, something for everyone. We will continue to stay with them every chance we get, if you want a little slice of Heaven then this is the place for you, I guarentee you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: The Cabins facing the River are the best, the trout stream running underneath the back decks make fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had never been to the area before, but was looking for a little getaway to reconnect with my son after having to be gone for 35 days. This was perfect in every way! Our check-in was seemless and took all of 5 minutes. The lady at the check in counter was extremely nice, I assume she was the owner. When we arrived at our cabin I was pleasantly surprised. I know there is a description of the different accommodations on their website, but they really don't do it justice. There were 3 of us in my group. The cabin had two bedrooms downstairs with queen beds in each, and a loft with two single beds. The one and only thing I can say is the one queen bed I slept in was really hard and uncomfortable. But the other room had a softer bed. I ended up sleeping up in the loft on one of the single beds, which my son thought was cool cause he could look over and see me. We arrived around 7pm our first night, so we couldn't do much that evening, but got up bright and early the next morning and went to do the Smoke Hole Caverns tour. It was a cool little tour and the tour guide was very knowledgeable. After the tour we went into the gift shop, which was amazing! You will definitely find something you like in here, and at reasonable prices. The owner is always walking around checking to see if you need help, and even let my son play with the wind chimes! The owner of the gift shop was very nice. She gave us pointers on what to do, and even called Yokum Stables for us to set up a horseback riding trip. After the horseback riding trip, we came back to the gift shop on our way back to our cabin because my mom needed some headache medicine....I guess the bouncing around on the horses gave her a little headache. The owner of the gift shop was still there and came over to ask my son all about the horseback ride. The following morning we went up to Dolly Sods, as recommended by the gift shop owner. It was a long drive up, but totally worth it to see some of the sights and especially if you enjoy hiking. Check-out was easier than check in. All you have to do is set your trash bag on the porch and leave your key on the table. It was such a great weekend, and everyone we encountered was soooo nice. We will definitely be going back, in fact we are planning a weekend there in November! My only regret is that I didn't know this place was here earlier, because this is definitely a perfect family getaway.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Family Log Cabins, number 4. It was the perfect fit for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We needed a place to just getaway from the hassel of the everyday routine and this was the the perfect solution. We stayed in the Honeymoon Cabin and it was more than what we expected. The Cabins were very clean and the staff went over and beyond to make our stay perfect.The fish ponds were the highlight of our walks around the resort they were wonderful.We will be sure to return when we need a perfect getaway. Hopefully they we put in firmer mattresses by the time we return. Doug

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Wells, WV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. The honeymoon cabin was wonderful. My only complaint would be that because of a problem with the resorts credit swiping system we had to put half of the balance on a different credit card than we had planned. One card (master card) worked, but nothing visa would work. When dealing with high volumes of money, the resort needs to make sure that their system is working appropriately.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort

Address: 8290 North Fork Highway, Cabins, WV 26855
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cabins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabins
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort property starts out with Smoke Hole Caverns, the brand new gift shop, the main office, and our log motel being located on the same property. As you travel 2 miles north you will see separated the Smoke Hole Log Cabin Resort area and the Smoke Hole Cottage area. Both groups of cabins our located on their private properties and offer a simply gorgeous rural retreat to the Appalachian Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smoke Hole Caverns And Log Cabin Resort
Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Hotel Seneca Rocks
Smoke Hole Family Log Hotel
Smoke Hole Family Log Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.