We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harmans in Wild Wonderful WV” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harman's Luxury Log Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Harman's Luxury Log Cabins to your Saves list
Harman's Luxury Log Cabins
10042 North Fork Highway, Cabins, WV 26855 (Formerly Harman's North Fork Cottages)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Da Burgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Harmans in Wild Wonderful WV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I as well as 2 other of our couples friends got together at a midway point between all of us. I had heard good things about Harmans so I decided to book it and find out. Cabin #3 was beautiful with accommodations for all 3 couples with room to spare. The interior was beautiful and though the water was low, I still managed some trout and smallmouth bass. A very enjoyable weekend indeed.

One thing to keep in mind though, it was the warm summer months when there and without an exhaust fan the couple in the top balcony bedroom was a little warm. They have AC in the cabins but cooking and turning on the fireplace could really heat that top room up.

Also for future reference we'll be staying the some of the higher number cabins that are a little farther off the beaten path away from the road. All are very nice though and we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    33
    8
    3
    9
See reviews for
69
120
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alma, WV
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Ive stayed in Cabin # 11, # 3 and just booked my stay for Cabin # 17. I cant wait to go back. Very peaceful and a beautiful place all around. Fishing was great each time and the staff was excellent. You wont find a better place to stay in the WV mountains than Harmans. I highly recommend it to anyone traveling through that area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Here's the deal:

- You will not find a nicer property in the Monongahela Forest area. Harman's cabins are beautiful, well equipped, and the property is spectacular.

- Harman's is not cheap. That's not to say they're not priced competitively, but they certainly do charge for their amenities. Their rates are similar to what one would expect from a business class hotel (Hilton, Westin, etc) in a major city.

- Harman's advertises Wi-Fi availability on their website prominently. The Wi-Fi is not reliable. This is not mentioned on their website at the time of booking. You should know this because there is virtually no cell phone connectivity in the immediate area around Harman's, so if you need connectivity and the Wi-Fi is not working you're out of luck. I was told (after I left) "It is not guaranteed."

- Harman's does not give refunds (or any consideration whatsoever) for amenities that they advertise but aren't working. You can see this from previous reviews of broken jacuzzis etc. I can add that Wi-Fi is part of this list.

Unfortunately, we had to cut our family vacation three days short because of the non-working Wi-Fi. This was not Harman's fault per se, and the owner (Mr. Harman) was communicative about the problem, but you should know that they do not consider Wi-Fi to be a part of the lodging that you're paying for and if it's not working you will be plainly told that it is not their problem.

In short: you're paying a business class hotel rate for a beautiful cabin in the middle of West Virginia. Just don't expect the flexibility, responsiveness, or sympathy one is used to at a business class hotel when things aren't as advertised.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvl0gcabins, Owner at Harman's Luxury Log Cabins, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
** Response: This was a very difficult decision. The customer submitting the comment is a valued customer that's stayed with us multiple times. Our response was based on policy past history, and future impact.


** Customer Comment:
Harman's does not give refunds (or any consideration whatsoever) for amenities that they advertise but aren't working. You can see this from previous reviews of broken jacuzzis etc. I can add that Wi-Fi is part of this list.

** Harman's has a standard refund policy for amenities. If your hot tub is not functioning for a night there is a standard refund. The refund is proportional to the amenity. If a cabin cost is $250,000 our $5000 hot tub pump failed when you arrived. We refund a portion of the nightly stay. Because the hot tub is such a big part of someone's stay it can be as much at 25% of the nightly stay.

** Recently an A/C unit stopped working for a customer during a hot stay. Because our summer occupancy is "98%", we had not other cabin to put them in. Our portable A/C units were being used, so we refunded them 100% of their nightly stay. Why? Its unreasonable to ask a customer to sleep in a cabin without A/C during hot August summer.

** In June during the electrical outage, our electrical outage refunds and loss of business was close to $7,000.00 over two days. Multiple stays were shortened by customers, and they received various levels of refunds.

We try to handle each refund on a per customer basis. Knowing if our response is not agreed with by the customer, (1) we lose a good customer (2) we lose opportunity for that customer to refer additional people to us (3) we must address the issue "openly" on trip advisor and/or other travel review sites.

**** Our WIFI is not guaranteed service.
We cannot guarantee our wi-fi service. This service is "free to guest". We do not charge a nightly fee for WIFI which many world class resorts charge. The wifi is used by us as a business for credit card processing as well as reservations. The service is operational at least 350 of 365 days a year.

*** This particular discussion.
In this case the cabin we provided did not have wifi service because of an issue with Frontier Communications. The office which is about 100 feet from the cabin had service and it could be used 24 hrs a day during the complete visit. We offered to allow the customer access to the office after hours so they could use the upstairs porch.

** Customer's Request: The customer asked for a refund or complementary stay in the future of multiple days, because they cut their vacation short.

Because the customer cut their stay short, our cancellation policy was enforced. They cancelled a multiple day stay, during our peak season when our property is booked at 100%. These nights could not be re-booked and were not re-booked, so we lost guaranteed revenue.

** History and Experience: If the policy of refunding a "full night stay" for an wifi outage was followed, we would have refunded every cabin for a total of 20 nights. Last week, a mack truck hit a electrical power pole 5 miles from the cabins. The wifi was out for 24 hrs at the whole property as well as our office. I did not ask Frontier for a refund for all of the business loss or my customers. Their response would have been "its not a guaranteed service".

** Finally, I believe we would handled this differently, if I had not been at resort on a conference with horrible internet service when I started to address this. We paid for $20.00 for daily internet service. Their response was we will only refund your daily rate for internet service.

Todd Harman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This will be our second trip back this year. Total of 5 over the past few years. We love the warm friendly environment and the staff really makes you feel welcome. The cabins are so comfortable and complete.... just like home. We had a wonderful time, pleasant and relaxing. Thank you Harman's North Fork Cottages.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This place is beautiful! Stayed here in February and got a nice little snow while we where here. Sitting in the hot tub watching the stars with the snow falling was the most relaxing thing ever. The cabins are very nice and some are literally right on the stream. The gift shop at the entrance is nice and the receptionist was friendly. If you can get away for a weekend try Harman's, you will love it!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I have been to Harmons 4 times in 3 years the fishing is great the view is awesome and the cabins are very good .we have been there in March and April and have been quite comfortable .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My first visit to Harman's was in the spring to fish the North Fork Invitational. While I had never been there had heard much about it. Not only was I not disappointed, I was pleasantly surprised by everything and vowed to return...and did just that.

The second time was a weekend getaway with friends. I have been telling anyone who will listen what a fantastic place Harman's is to spend the weekend. Wonderful cabins, terrific fishing, and cell phones don't work..it's perfect!

Can't wait to get back and very, very soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harman's Luxury Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harman's Luxury Log Cabins

Address: 10042 North Fork Highway, Cabins, WV 26855 (Formerly Harman's North Fork Cottages)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cabins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cabins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury Log Cabins are located on the banks of a private trophy trout stream, the North Fork of the South Branch of the Potomac River. These riverside log cabins have a spectacular river view twice featured in Wonderful West Virginia Magazine. Our rental cabins are available year-round. Each cabin is fully furnished with a private outdoor Hot Tub. One bedroom cabins have an indoor Jacuzzi Tub for a Romantic Getaway and Private Outdoor Hot Tub. Two, three and four bedroom family cabins have a private outdoor Hot Tub. All vacation cabins have a fireplace, DSS Sat TV with DVD player, WIFI access, fully appointed kitchens, dish washer, linens and towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harman's Luxury Log Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harman`s North Fork Cottages Hotel Cabins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harman's Luxury Log Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.