We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of C.J. Maggies

C.J. Maggies
16 East Main St., Buckhannon, WV 26201
(304) 472-2490
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 37 restaurants in Buckhannon
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shepherdstown
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A fun little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

C. J. Maggie's has a fun atmosphere. The food is good and the portions plentiful. It is conveniently located in downtown Buckhannon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    33
    27
    14
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not great but not terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The food was average. Apparently there were some waitresses that didn't show up so we hardly saw our waitress. She did as good as she could but there were not enough staff to work the floor. Buckhannon doesn't have a lot of choices so this place is probably overrated for the quality because there isn't much else to compare it to. I'd go back but mostly because there isn't much else in the way of casual dining in the area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“These Folks Bent Over Backwards to Make Sure We Were Happy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were in Buckhannon for the West Virginia Strawberry Festival with our drum and bugle corps. On Friday evening about 9 of us went to CJ Maggies for dinner and while we were waiting another 5 of our members arrived. We suggested there could be as many as 40 of us, so they set up the meeting room on the 3rd floor so that we could all be together. We had one server (Savannah ?) and she was super - trundling up 3 floors (there's no elevator or dumb waiter) loaded with trays of drinks, appetizers, and main courses while she also managed to ensure that all new arrivals were taken care of. From all accounts the food was great and the evening was a huge success thanks to Savannah and the accommodating folks at CJ Maggie's. And we did end up with at least 40 people (40 happy and well fed folks!).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“College town pizzas and sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Terrific different little touches make this a place not to miss. Fun menu. Different twists on old standards. Fried green beans, cajun corn and "not just garlic bread" (delightful toasts topped with mozzarella and asiago cheeses) Splendid variety of pasta, pizzas and sandwiches. Tasty and huge portions. Wonderful memorabilia tacked up around the room.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Ate here will visiting Buckhannon for a baseball camp. The server was very nice, the food was great and the prices very reasonable. We'll be back in August when we take our son to WVWC.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C.J. Maggies also viewed

 

Been to C.J. Maggies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage C.J. Maggies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.