We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glady Fork Cabins

Glady Fork Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glady Fork Cabins
Save
You added Glady Fork Cabins to your Saves list
HC 68, Box 136 B, Bowden, WV 26254   |  
Hotel amenities
Charleston, West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in the River Otter Cabin. Two bedrooms, one and a half bath, full kitchen (including coffee...), hot tub, and sat TV.
The Cabin was actually bigger then what I expected, and the owners were very friendly.
Everything was nice and clean, as well as pretty new. Our cabin wasn't 100% finished, but we didn't mind.
Our cabin was right by the creek, and sitting on the balcony in the evenings was very nice.
The lower level bedroom wasn't very big, but we were there to sleep for a couple nights not to move in ;-)
The drive there was great simply because the leafs are were turning. Location wise it isn't too far from Elkins (grocery shopping), and about 45 minutes from Seneca Rocks (reason we went).
I would recommend these cabins to a friend... we enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edgecomb, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Beautiful property with all the amenities you want. Super nice mattresses, great bathroom, fully equipped kitchen (dishwasher!), hot tub, flat screen tv. Much colder than we expected due to a spring storm-but Gary plowed the road and all was good. Pasture available for the horses made it perfect. 4 miles down the road to the trailhead for riding. Fishing on the property and also within 15 minute drive. Unfortunately no fish were caught :(

You will love this property. About a 30 minute drive from Elkins. No cell or internet service on the property so you have to drive for access (15 minutes- cell service at the trailer court-and 30 minutes-internet in Elkins).

Room Tip: Choose the ones on the water's edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The only reason I didn't give five stars is because we were there during the "Derecho" storm that passed through and took out the power for several states, so that turned our little cabin in the woods trip into more of a camping trip due to the lack of power, having to find water, ice for the cooler, etc. Also, the online reservation system wasn't working when I tried to book the cabin so I had to call. Not sure if it's back up or not at this point.

We stayed in the River Retreat Cabin, which is tucked in around plenty of trees. There is a small creek behind the cabin and you can just see river out front. We saw deer every day, even caught site of a buck once. The cabins are far enough away from one another that you can't really see each other which is really nice compared to other places. Outside there is a porch swing and propane grill in the front, and a picnic table in back. This particular cabin is just meant for couples - it had a queen bed, a fireplace, and a jacuzzi tub. There is also a small kitchen and bathroom with a shower. The bed was comfortable (while we had air conditioning - not so much when the power went out. There weren't screens on the windows so we had the option of open windows and tons of mosquitoes or closed windows and heat). The cabins do not have satellite dishes, but there is a TV with a DVD player and a selection of movies to watch.

All in all this was a fun getaway, though perhaps more of an adventure than we bargained for due to the storm.

Room Tip: Their website is: http://www.gladyforkcabins.com/default.php You'll find the full listing of ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed at River Retreat Cabin over this past Thanksgiving. Hard year before and we wanted to get away from it all. We arrived after dark and we are early risers so we had to wait for the sun to come up in the hollow to see where we were. How pleased we were when we found ourselves in the most delightful cabin, tucked safely away from it all. We dutifully toured the beautiful Canaan Valley for over half a day, got supplies and headed back to the cabin for the rest of our stay. Just us, the river, the stream, the waterfalls and the deer. oh and the fire wood that mysteriously appeared on the porch. Very nice place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glady Fork Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glady Fork Cabins

Address: HC 68, Box 136 B, Bowden, WV 26254
Location: United States > West Virginia > Bowden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bowden
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glady Fork Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.